I'm Meeting with the Starship Troopers Movie Character in the Garden

in #writing6 years ago

IMG_20180203_161715.jpg


Source: Image 1


Hai, are you remembering the Starhip Troopers film released in 1997? The film was directed by Paul Verhoeven and written by Edward Neumeier. If you still remember, this time I want to write about meeting with one of the characters in this movie. An accidental coincidence.

Well, this meeting started when I visited the family gardens in Banda Aceh. At that time, one of the characters of Starhip Troopers was busy sunbathing in the sun. I immediately took a smartphone to photograph the character of this American science fiction science film. But wait, I mean the character of the movie Starhip Troopers is not Casper Van Dien, Jake Busey, Neil Patrick Harris, Patrick Muldoon, and Michael Ironside. The character of the film I mentioned in this paper is not Dina Meyer let alone Denise Richards. The character I am referring to is an insect, which became an American military enemy in the film. Yes, an insect that has three pairs of legs, two antennas, and a pair of eyes on the head. The color of these insects is gray, has wings and sharp spikes on the toes like grasshoppers.

I suspect that this insect is the inspiration for Jon Davison and Alan Masrshall to create an enemy of the human race in the film.

If you do not believe please look for scenes of this movie on YouTube when Casper Van Dien cs fight. I'm sure you'll find the insect character I mean.


Then try to see photos of insects I call like Starship Troopers characters below:

IMG_20180203_161205.jpg


IMG_20180203_161123.jpg


IMG_20180203_161031.jpg


IMG_20180203_160924.jpg


IMG_20180203_160828.jpg

Almost the same right?


Scientific identification

After tired of researching google search engine, I finally found a similar picture of Starship Troopers characters that I met in the garden. These insects belong to the Allydidae family. If it launches the Uncle Wiki record (Wikipedia), these insects are known as habitat residents who are quite arid and sandy. For example seashores, heathland, grasslands, and savannas.

The main food of these insects is the seeds absorbed by the trunk to drink the nutritious fluids contained in them. Some of them are economically significant pests, such as the oratoria Leptocorisa on rice. (Source).

But, I also found a fit of the physical features of the insect I call the Starship Troopers movie character with the subfamily Coreoidea. This species is a sap-sucking insect that falls into the Heteroptera suborder. Some sources mention this type of insect is a plant sapper, but some also classify these insects as carnivores.

I am not an insect morphologist despite having an interest in the animal world. It's a good idea to find more information after reading this paper to insect experts, especially to identify the Starship Troopers character I mean. Good luck!


THANK YOU FOR READING MY POST



Sort:  

I know Starship Troopers Movie... Nice photos ;)
Thanks for sharing.

Yeah, older movie

This post has received gratitude of 1.03 % from @appreciator thanks to: @boynashruddin.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65