You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A childhood acquitance

in #writing5 years ago

You set the scene well, giving enough description to get a feel for the place without it feeling as though one was reading a list of details. (Love Saddie kissing Garret's pic by the way.)

The skeleton drinking milk would have been more fun to watch than those other "Got Milk" promos that used to air. Again you give more facets of Saddie's character, having her slide down the railing (yeah I know it was to avoid the creaking in the stairs but I felt that she was having fun while thieving and that makes the story more enjoyable).

Introducing the spoon/teacher to show that the witch in training could have forgiveness - at least some - after one had wronged her was another great peek into Ashley.

I have to say that you wrote a great chase scene. No added fluff, just some action to move them along and get the blood pumping before the reveal.

I had an audible "Awww!!" from me when they recognized each other and the three hugged. <3 Though I'm surprised Ashley didn't offer to help with Saddie's missing ear? Perhaps she can heal but not replace yet? Or is it that Saddie wouldn't have wanted her to so she didn't offer?

Your ending was sweet with their good-nights to each other, her stuffed bunny, and the harmonies of the trees, creatures and skeletons. You left the story off by making this reader smile.

Sort:  

UwU ~ Thanks for reading and thanks for the compliments! That’s my charm I guess to work around detail-laying and make it feel like an orator is setting the scene. Especially important for a character I want to introduce, the delivery can’t be pecked up. Certainly on the skele, now I want a gif of that. Also was having in mind that she would have fun and make her own thieving legacy, would make Garett proud to her his descendant not being a copycat. Going further, I wanted to introduce the basement elements yet also display their relationship to Ashley. I think it successful even after all this time when I re-read these stories. The chase scene was probably the funnest thing to make all throughout, the cathartic scene which gets a cathartic end sequence with the d’awww hug. Anyways, I noticed I didn’t write in that detail but I think the flow of conversation would make them ignore that detail for now. To answer on that, I meant to make it implied that Saddie wanted to not have that ear replaced, a symbol of pride I will get to later down the saga. To end it off, every story ending with Ashley and Saddie has to have a flair like a story if it ends with a Grunt or Dark Myst of Red-Flame or any member of the Insurrectionists, RN-1199 crew or PRF (Polish Revolutionary Forces).

260CCC34-9ED4-41DC-9C06-491EF72D59BE.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98