You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Soliloquy Speaking: Bring Depth to Your Characters. Day 14 of the Total Writer Transformation

in #writing6 years ago

I have been enjoying this series so much. I do short stories and a variety of writing projects with my Gr. 8's every year and as much as we go over different strategies, some still struggle with building characters and plotlines. I find once they can get a good prompt they are able to get moving forward. It helps so much to write about the things you know and are interested in. They get into difficulty when they try to write about things they have no knowledge of.

Sort:  

I think we all have a greater difficulty with writing about things we don't know much about, or care much about, no matter our age.

That's one thing I found with my writing students: they need to be interested in the subject they are to write about, otherwise it's just "work" and they aren't as likely to fall in love with writing and keep it up...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63687.39
ETH 3309.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93