PART TWO: What it means to be young in South Africa, in 2018, the current democratic dispensation.

in #writing6 years ago

Hi Steemians!

This is, as promised, the second part of the post that I shared with you. I hope you like it.

Last year, 2017, a lot of things happened. It came to me earlier this year that I need no political party to make a difference in another students/humans life, especially when the space is a toxic one. I needed growth. However, the eye opener was failing something for the very first time in my life.

End of 2017 self-introspection and reflections on life assisted me with clarity for my future. Ever since, every day is a beautiful learning day. Each day is a day of growth with unlimited opportunities. I am forever grateful for being born under democracy. This is indeed the best time to be alive.

Steem 3.jpg Smile more, these days never come back.

At some point in my life I felt as if that my life is just moving for the sake of it. I did not have a clear sense of self and knowledge thereof. This was in fact not just a feeling. It is the case. Today it’s a different story, even though I will never stop personally developing myself.

Today I am free to be conscious of myself, have my own thoughts and free to take the necessary steps to change my life. Referring to the Constitution, section 15 (Freedom of religion, belief and opinion) subsection (1) states that everyone has the right to freedom of conscience, religion, thought, belief and opinion.
Steem9.jpg Image Credit
Reading through our Constitution I thought this section was worthy of being noted. Today in our country, I can choose whatever it is that is in my best interest provided no one gets harmed in any from. This is powerful. It is liberating.

Self-consciousness is of paramount importance in a person’s life. If you are not conscious of yourself, surroundings, thoughts, associates etc then you’re simply in for a shock, not to mention that you are not exercising your right, especially with so much that has been lost for us to gain and enjoy in today’s age.

What I would like to advise my fellow SA youth is that we should take charge of our own lives and meet the government halfway, try by all means to be independent from State assistance. The State can only do so much. There are opportunities that are available, we just need to have the will. The way will subsequently reveal itself. Let us find and make use of these opportunities.

From the time I started to focus and master myself, each day is cherished dearly. I now know what kind of a life I want to live, and each day I am getting a step closer. This is because success is a daily skill that can be learnt.

Steem2.JPG I take random pictures of my surroundings.

Here, as the youth we are given the chance to be the best that we can ever be. This requires self-motivation, patience, determination, courage, consistency, concentration, cooperation and massive action to name but a few. When you know yourself, you are at an advantage in life because you are not just a busy being of life going where the wind blows. You live up to what you believe, and feel is your purpose & contribution in society. Every one of us needs to understand that there is #YouInYouth.

I have consciously decided what I want for my future and what I need to do to get there. It is not going to be an easy journey, but it is well worth it.

Being young today in South Africa means a lot to me as I can literally become ANYTHING I want given our recent history as a country. It just requires me to have a positive mind and understand that I can do it, even though it may not be as easy as it sounds.

The Gauteng Provincial Government hosted a Gauteng Youth Expo for the unemployed youth, learners who are in high schools and entrepreneurs through its Tshepo1million campaign. It went from the 9th – 17th June 2018. I took my niece and went to the expo. It was very informative, with private and government departments available for any assistance to the ambitious struggling youth. I congratulate the provincial government for hosting such a successful expo.

Steem8.JPG
Gauteng Provincial Government Youth Expo, Nasrec Johannesburg, Republic of South Africa.

Steem7.JPG
Me and my niece.

Steem6.JPG

This democracy is still 24 years young. It requires every citizen and especially the youth to guard it with their lives. It is getting tested recently, and that might be a good thing, and it might also backfire. This country is the only thing most South African have, the statistics testify to this.

Today, I am the Co-Founder of The NoticeBoard, a Digital Brand that we are still working on with my business associates to get off the ground. We had been having ideas from late last year, and from the beginning of the year we have been sharing ideas, brainstorming, strategizing, setting goals and looking for ways to bring our dream into reality. It isn’t easy as it seems, but what I love is that the will is there.

Steem 4.JPG

Be sure to come and see this beautiful country, we have a lot of rich history and everyone who has been here will tell you that we are the most welcoming.

So, become the best you and make the world a better place. Do it for yourself, family, community, country and humanity.

What does it mean to be Young in your country for you? Are you satisfied like I am, or the opposite?

[Steemit Original]

Connect with me

Instagram:
Personal Account: (@being.clive.b)
Brand Account: (@the_noticeboard_rsa)

Facebook:
Personal Account: (Being Clive Bheki)
Brand Account: (The_NoticeBoard)

Steemit:
Personal Account: (@busybeing)
Brand Account: (@thenoticeboard)

Thank YOU for taking your time to read this, I APPRECIATE it.

Love and Peace

Sort:  

You just planted 0.13 tree(s)!


Thanks to @busybeing

We have planted already 3064.32 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 21506.61
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73