Crooked Box Poems, #18: Lost it in Atlanta

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Wow guys, it has been two entire months since my last entry in my long running, albeit not very popular, series "Crooked Box Poems."

I'm no longer in order. I wasn't writing as frequently as before, and yet there is close to 100 pages of material here that I haven't posted (just from the ominous teal notebook alone), so I was flipping through so I could post and be more, um, regular on Steemit, and I found this poem. I honestly don't know why I wrote it, but it still resonates a bit.

So, here it is:

Lost It in Atlanta

55366793d71b0.image.jpg
This is a photo of a music venue that I went to in Athens, Georgia. I don't know if I wrote the poem about this or not, lolz. I lost it somewhere. I lose it a lot though. God, I don't know.

No hiding place,
No electronic refuge, no
Voice that loves no matter what,
No female god with one breast larger than the other.
It's two or so hours,
It's six or so months,
But it's forever when the past arrives,
Handsome as ever,
And wrecks your walls.
God save the rest.


Okay, this was written when this guy that, admittedly, is was cooler, hotter, and more well-liked than I am came back to our church after leaving a while back. I became invisible again, and I had no one to turn to. God felt absent, I'd lost my best friend (to circumstance, not, ya know, death), and it was just me, writing fervently to banish the negative feelings that swamped me when he came back. I mean, God loves His soul, and I don't hate him, but it's hard to be me when he's around.

I don't know how else to explain it.

Anyways, I hope you liked it or that it spoke to you in some sort of way. Hopefully I'll be more regular about these and post them a little more often.

Thanks for reading! God bless. <3

EDIT: I remember what my poem is about now!!

I lost my phone in the Atlanta airport!

I had no one to text or talk to or retreat to, even though I had no one, so I wrote this poem while sitting around after church!

The other stuff still applies.

Holy crap! Sweet!

Okay, I'm gone again. Bye!!

Sort:  

thanks for sharing the poem, I love Atlanta although didn't visit it for couple of years already

I've honestly just passed through.

HOLY CRAP, I REMEMBER WHAT THIS POEM IS ABOUT

Seems like no-phone time often turns into good-writing time. Interesting.

Ah! the electronic refuge part makes sense! I totally don't get the one about the unevenly breasted goddes, though. I'm probably missing something.

As usual, I love your work :)
Cheers

The unevenly breasted goddess thingy is kind of a personal reference that, eh, I feel like if I explained it, it would make stuffs awkward. But thank you for reading and all the love and stuff!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60870.66
ETH 2917.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62