You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: “What the Heck???” by Richard F. Yates

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

Cool to hear you are working on an RPG boardgame, that has definitely been a big boom in past few years. I know what you mean about inventing new game mechanics, I have tooled around on a few different homebrew RPG systems (for pen and paper) and a lot of the time it just felt like I was re-inventing the wheel.

RE content discovery here, the reward you get is most directly impacted by the time you spend engaging with other authors. Just publishing a post and setting it out to sail in the wild seas of Steem means you will likely never reach hospitable lands of upvote plenty. It would be more accurate to say Steem is a blockchain that rewards social interaction, than it would be to say Steem is a blockchain that rewards good content. Basically, you have to make friends with people who have more Steem Power than you, or you won't make it. Period. Good content is pretty much incidental to rewards, in all honesty. The only exception being if your content is picked up by one of the curation groups that actively looks for good content to reward (as I just nominated your eyeball lollipops post to @c-squared curation group).

If you are serious about "making it" on Steem, and have some time to spend doing so, I would prioritize finding and joining communities of like minded writers/artists, and making intelligent/humourous/or-otherwise-thought-provoking comments on better established accounts that seem to operate in a similar sphere to you.

Good luck! - Carl "Alien Eyeball" Gnash

Sort:  

Yeah, I'm really enjoying putting the game together. My older daughter and her husband are huge game fans---they even do a weekly board game night with several of their friends. (I figure I have a built in test audience for my game there!)

As for getting eyes on my materials here on Steem... I know you're right. Engagement is the key. I take a sick pride in not using bid bots or voting for myself---but then I whine when only a few people see my stories! (Ha!) I'm one of those folks who is constantly writing or drawing or painting or building something...and once it's done I move instantly on to the next thing. I'm terrible at taking the time to "get out there" and be social... I've always been awful at marketing, too, which I find tedious. I would rather be drawing some old fashioned robot or writing about some zombie who hates his accounting job... But I KNOW you're right.

AND!!! Thanks a million for throwing my lollipops at C-Squared!!! It "blew up" (compared to most of my posts) after you gave it a push! It is much appreciated!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64160.97
ETH 3145.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86