'In the Silence of Words' - Act I, Scene 1

in #writing6 years ago

In the silence of words cover scaled.jpg

CAST OF CHARACTERS

  • Cassandra Philip - The main character. She is 30.
  • Daniel Philip - Cassandra’s father. He is 58.
  • Oliver Auffret - Cassandra's fiancé of five years. He is 31.
  • Amadi Crawford - Cassandra’s best friend. She is 30.
  • Angelica Helori - Cassandra’s aunt and mother’s twin sister. She is 56.
  • Celeste Davison - A poet and writer. She is 55.
  • Myriam Philip-Helori - Cassandra’s mother and Angelica’s twin sister. She died a few days ago. She was 56.
  • Father Gibrerson - A priest who conducts the funeral service.

Setting: The play takes place in a church then in Cassandra and Oliver's apartment.

Time: The present. Beginning of September.


ACT I, SCENE I

(The lights rise on a funeral service in church. A white cross is displayed in the background. In front of it, there is a podium with a microphone. Main-character CASSANDRA PHILIP walks to the podium holding a letter. DANIEL PHILIP, ANGELICA HELORI, AMADI CRAWFORD, and OLIVER AUFFRET are seated on a bench near a casket. They look sad and very tired. A few attendees are seated in the audience.)

CASSANDRA: Thank you all for being here today. Last night, I was thinking about my mother, and what to say and how to say things. But, it wasn’t easy. I tried to write a message. (slowly unfolding the letter and starting to read) I heard some people say that death is a continuation of life. That when people die, they go to Heaven or Hell, depending on what they have done through their lives. I do not know about that. (sobs are heard) My mother was a brilliant student. She was very smart and hard-working. She worked all her life to give me a good education, to show me how I could achieve my goals and be successful. (looking at DANIEL and smiling) She was so much in love with my father! (stops reading) I remember one morning. I, I must have been three. I was seated on the floor at my parents’ house. I heard my dad call my name. I stood up and, and walked to the kitchen. And there they were, holding each other, my mom smiling like an angel. (smiling) My father was smiling back at her... The best memories I have of my mother... They are those smiles… I… (sobs) I… cannot describe how good it feels to think about them. And that’s, that is what I want to remember – the good things. The truth is, Mother, you have been loved… and, and I think that’s what matters the most. So, be at peace now.

(She looks at the audience and sits down. FATHER GIBRERSON takes her place.)

FATHER GIBRERSON: Thank you, Cassandra. It was a very moving speech. (short pause) You are right. We only ought to remember the good times. (short pause) And now, let us honor the memory of Myriam through a moment of silence. Please, rise. (pause) May God bless this soul. Amen!

(They all stand up; a few people quietly offer their condolences. ANGELICA starts crying. AMADI is the last person to stand in line.)

AMADI: Cass, are you okay? (They hug.)

CASSANDRA: I think so. I’m glad you came.

AMADI: (smiling) It will take some time. But I know you’ll be fine.

CASSANDRA: That’s what they say, anyway. Life goes on...

AMADI: You are a strong woman.

CASSANDRA: (looking at the casket) I haven’t cried yet...

FATHER GIBRERSON: It’s time now. You may carry the coffin outside.

(DANIEL, OLIVER and two undertakers exit with the casket. Only CASSANDRA and AMADI are left onstage.)

CASSANDRA: I think I’ll sit here for a bit.

AMADI: Well, people are waiting for you.

CASSANDRA: (sighing) They can go on without me.

AMADI: But, they need you...

CASSANDRA: But, I don’t... I know… I have to… I’m coming.

(OLIVER enters.)

OLIVER: Sweetie? It’s getting late... Please...

CASSANDRA: Yes.

OLIVER: Please...

CASSANDRA: I know.

(AMADI shakes her head.)

OLIVER: Ok! Ok!

(He exits and ANGELICA enters.)

ANGELICA: I knew I would find you here.

CASSANDRA: Just give me a few minutes.

ANGELICA: Sure. But, please... Your father is getting –

AMADI: Do you want me to stay here with you?

CASSANDRA: No. I just need to be alone.

AMADI: That’s fine.

(AMADI and ANGELICA exit.)

CASSANDRA: What to do? What to do? I can’t --

(FATHER GIBRERSON enters.)

FATHER GIBRERSON: Cassandra, I know it must be very difficult for you...

CASSANDRA: (not looking at him) Father, I’m sorry.

FATHER GIBRERSON: Do not apologize. It’s normal to want to be alone.

CASSANDRA: I know you need to finish –

FATHER GIBRERSON: Shhhh... It is alright. Please, take a few minutes for yourself, if you wish. I do not mind waiting a little bit.

CASSANDRA: Thank you, Father.

FATHER GIBRERSON: (grabbing her hand) Cassandra, your mother was dear to my heart. She will be missed. I know she is in Heaven, now.

(Long pause.)

CASSANDRA: Does it really matter?

FATHER GIBRERSON: I believe so.

CASSANDRA: Does she know that?

FATHER GIBRERSON: Do you want to say a prayer? (CASSANDRA shakes her head) Very well then, I shall give you a few minutes.

(DANIEL enters.)

DANIEL: Oh, Father, you are here.

FATHER GIBRERSON: I shall wait outside. You both need a few minutes alone.

(FATHER GIBRERSON exits.)

DANIEL: What are you doing, sitting here? We need to end that.

CASSANDRA: You do! I need --

DANIEL: We all need something.

CASSANDRA: Yes, I know. Just give me a moment.

DANIEL: A moment for what?

CASSANDRA: A moment of peace.

DANIEL: Come on now, Cassy...

CASSANDRA: Dad...

DANIEL: Cassy, we are all waiting for you!

CASSANDRA: As if I didn’t know that!

DANIEL: Then, move it!

CASSANDRA: Dad, I’m coming! I said I needed a moment.

DANIEL: Don’t be too long. I do NOT have the whole day.

(DANIEL exits.)

CASSANDRA: Yes, Dad, I know. I’m coming.

(AMADI re-enters)

CASSANDRA: (Cont’d) I’m coming! Why can’t I be left alone for one minute? Sorry, Amadi. I thought it was my dad. I’m so tired!

AMADI: It’s okay. I know it’s not easy.

CASSANDRA: I’m too tired to even realize that. And my dad...

AMADI: (sitting next to CASSANDRA) Shhhh. Let your dad… be your dad.

CASSANDRA: (looking around) It’s a nice church...

AMADI: Yes, it was the right place.

CASSANDRA: And the song... It was her favorite song.

AMADI: It still is. It will always be.

CASSANDRA: I remember... I remember the first day I came back from high school. She was standing in the doorway, expecting me. My father was still at work. She just held me and we stayed there... on, on the porch... without a word, for at least five minutes...

AMADI: (smiling) I would have loved to see that.

(FATHER GIBRERSON re-enters.)

CASSANDRA: She had made my favorite –

FATHER GIBRERSON: It’s time now.

CASSANDRA: Yes, Father.

(FATHER GIBRERSON exits.)

CASSANDRA: (Cont’d) Do you think one can forget...

AMADI: Come on now, take a deep breath. Relax --

CASSANDRA: How on earth can I relax? You tell me! Sorry, I didn’t mean it that way.

AMADI: I know... It’s all good. Let’s go now. Please.

CASSANDRA: Yes, let’s go.

(They exit, holding hands.)

(END OF SCENE 1)


Copyright © 2007 Cendrine Marrouat

Cover design by Cendrine Marrouat

All rights reserved. This post or any portion thereof may not be reproduced, re-sold, given away, or used in any manner whatsoever without the express written permission of the author except for the use of brief quotations in a book review.

For permission requests, contact: [email protected]

Website: https://www.cendrinemedia.com

Disclaimer: This is a work of fiction. Names, characters, places, events, locales, and incidents are either the products of the author’s imagination or used in a fictitious manner. Any resemblance to actual persons, living or dead, or actual events is purely coincidental.


In the Silence of Words: A Three-Act Play is available for purchase on Amazon.


If you liked this post, leave a comment and share it! Thank you!


See my photography, books and limited-edition prints for sale by clicking the image below:

Cendrine Marrouat Large scaled.jpg

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

hy , I always belief in networking and i am also writing a content on that https://steemit.com/life/@rikiripon/network-regularly-and-volunteer-or-or-one-step-passage-to-success
lets support each other

Congratulations @cendrinemedia! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hello @cendrinemedia, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62276.80
ETH 3005.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62