The fog (pt.1)

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

fog_awaits_by_dianacretu.jpg
By diancretu on deviantart

Our town was normally a quiet place nothing really ever goes amiss it being a simple and easy going town. The majority of the population worked at the big research lab at the edge of town called Strigen. The rest of the populous worked at various other places that kept the town running smoothly. Strigen is a top secret research lab where they make all the most bleeding edge discoveries there and push the boundaries of the human concepts of science. All of the stuff that goes on there is very hush hush and none of the residence would talk about it or risk their job but I was fine with that the place was creepy and I personally did not want anything to do with it but what you want has a funny way of not being what does of not being what happens in reality.

This day already felt unnatural making my stomach turn as I was getting into my squad car getting ready to go to the station. Me being the sheriff I had to get there early to set an a good example to all the deputies under me. Opening the garage door there was thick fog swirling outside seeming almost alive. It wafted up inside the opening door. This town was no stranger to the occasional fog rolling in but never this dense. Driving to the station in this thick fog was a not an easy task or ideal. When all you see is the white fog your mind starts playing tricks on you make you think that there is movement but all it was was the movement of the fog around the air currents my slow moving car made. I had to make it to the station it was a slow going processes but it was something I had to do. The windows were rolled down as to help me navigate around with sound for the fog was so thick my eyes could just see a little past the car it self.

It gave me this eerie feeling not being able to see fast this blanket of swirling white vapor before me. What stood out the most was not the fact of not being able to see but the sound or the lack there of. Even though it was early there still are usually people out and about this early but all I heard was my engine and the slow roll of my tires over the pavement.

The trip to the station seemed to drag on forever but at the speed I was going it was no wonder. When getting there and getting out of the car I notice the harsh silence even more now that there were no sounds coming from my car. I could hear the fact that there was almost no sound coming from no where. The only sound could be heard was something that sounded like leaves moving maybe from the breeze. Looking around all i could see was the white fog swirling all around with an almost intelligence about it. I could feel my body tense up while watching the hypnotic fog movement my body knew what it had to do before my brain did. I turned and started walking to the station door. It was a short walk and I had to go by memory if it was the right way but it was as if a presence was behind me but every time i looked all I saw was the ominous swirling white fog. I pick up the pace feeling the hair on the back of my neck stand on end. As I reach the door there is a simple note taped to the simple note taped to the inside.
"Stirgen Facility NEED HELP"
If I go there I might find the answers I need.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67320.55
ETH 3709.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78