Just Musings, Nothing More

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Hello y'all. It's 2AM here and sleep has ran away from my eyes. It's been a lazy day today. There was no electricity till evening. My gadgets were off so I used the opportunity to sleep. I went to bed around 4AM yesterday night. I slept and woke up lazy, plus my right arm wouldn't let me do anything. It hurts like crazy. Had a little home accident. Since I can't type a long new post, I've decided to dig up some of my scribbles. They are mostly random ramblings. I've actually forgotten about some of them. I'll share three. Read and have fun.


old-1130743__480.jpg
Source

I was sitting outside and thinking about nothing in particular when my eyes caught these ants. They were dragging a dead spider towards a small hole dug into the ground. The spider was way bigger and heavier than all of them but they didn't give up. They continued to work tirelessly.

I wanted to be inspired by their efforts but then I remembered what happened few months ago. I was nursing a migraine. I wasn't even seeing clearly. I managed to drag myself outside because my Mama was getting worried. I sat on a plastic chair and was immediately bitten by an ant. It had rained the night before and the ants were flying around in the morning. One must have gotten there somehow and had to choose my butt, of all places. The energy I used in smashing that little devil was not of this earth. I'm sure even the migraine was impressed.

That's how some people will come and be telling us to appreciate little lessons from these small insects. I guess they haven't been bitten by one. Soon they'll add cockroaches to the mix. That slimy stinky mean flying bastards that aims for the face. They even wash themselves after accidental contact with humans. The irony! Or is it rats? I know someone who thinks they're adorable. Wait till they burrow deep into your favorite book, chew your shoes or the wire of your laptop charger. Then we can have a conversation.

I was standing under a shade and flipping through some printed materials when I heard someone say, "You have sexy hands." I looked up and before I could say anything, he was already in a deep conversation with someone else. I smiled and mumbled "Thanks."

You see, little compliments from strangers like the above can make someone's day. Few words spoken in total honesty. It's like when a child walks up to you and says, "You're beautiful."

Growing up, I was called a lot of things, most of them demeaning. It didn't help that I was small, skinny and had a flat chest. I grew a tough skin. I turned the insults into jokes without even realising it. Fast forward to secondary school, someone called my legs beautiful for the very first time. I smirked and moved on. I never believed it. They were after all the same legs that'd been bashed so many times.

Now an adult, I've come to appreciate this lovely package that is me. From my hair down to my toes. I smile when people turn to have a second look. I murmur "I know" when they say something about my natural hair. I totally understand when they ask to touch my nose on first meet. I no longer worry about anything on my body. It doesn't matter the size. I mean, no one is perfect. No one has it all. It's more of our perfect imperfections. I'm comfortable because I know I'm beautiful.

Imagine yourself taking a stroll one colourful evening. The path is narrow, and wide plants line the corners. The setting sun casts a beautiful shadow over the horizon. The flowers and trees glow as a result. Orange is your favourite colour, so you're enjoying the view. The cool evening air is making a beautiful mess of you hair, but you care less. Your mind is on the project you're working on. You can't wait to get it done and grab the money. In fact, the reason you left town is to get away from family and friends so you can concentrate more. You work better when you're alone.

Lost in thoughts, you look up and see a familiar figure approaching. Your eyes widen as you recognise the person. He is you ex, one of a kind, mummy's boy. You remember how young you both were then. He was a beautiful boy. Very lovable. His only fault was his mummy. He wouldn't say two words without mentioning her. He would take permission from her before doing anything. He almost dragged the sex in too. So, you dumped his baby arse. You told him you loved him, but growing some real balls wouldn't be such a bad idea.

Your heart begins to beat faster as you watch him put one foot infront of the other. You notice some changes - his shoulders are broader, his arms bigger. Dark beards line his jaw in a perfect triangle. You can feel bouts of excitement rushing through your veins.. Adrenaline is at work. He recognises you immediately. Wide grin, outstretched arms, followed by a bear hug. You catch a whiff of his perfume, surprised he still uses the same one. You feel a little giddy. Your blood continue to hum in you ears.

"It's so good to see you again," you coo. You're already blushing from ear to ear.

"You too. You look so beautiful," he returns. "What are you doing here?"

"Working on a project. What about you?"

"I'm checking out a plot of land I want to buy. My mum doesn't like the place, so I haven't decided yet."

You open your mouth to reply but words fail you. You recover quickly and wish him luck.

Shaking your head, you say to yourself, "Babe, it's okay to die now."

trees-3464777__480.jpg
Source


Thanks for stopping by!
What are your thoughts?

Sort:  

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Hahahahahaha. Turns out there wasn't much growing up inside as well as he did on the outside. He's still a mama's boy.

Always will be.

Love the randomness of this post.
First of all, ants ain't cute. It's boring trying to pick valuable lessons from everything, somethings should just naturally annoy you, like mosquitoes and rat. Although mosquitoes work hard for their blood--they fly around purposefully, settle down on your delicate skin and suck you! Some life lessons you can there.
Well, about receiving compliments. I used to be overly excited when people comment about my writing but now I'm so confident about it that I simply reply 'i know' when such compliments come.
About the mummy's boy ex-boyfriend, well, I reserve my comment.
Nice post.

Lol. Thanks fo reading, @nonz.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01