You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dostoevsky - Psychology of Sin

in #writing7 years ago

So hey, it's rare to have someone who might be able to talk about this! I've read Crime and Punishment and The Brothers Karamazov. I adored the former and was sort of befuddled by the latter. I mean, they both seemed pretty foreign -- a different time and a different place, but in Crime that was affecting to me and in Brothers it created a remove between me and the weirdo characters. Have I provided enough info that you could meaningfully suggest other stuff to read?

Sort:  

Hello,

it's hard to find such authors with such a charge. I recommend you to read Kafka's Metamorphosis, some of Camus, or some philosophical treatise on Dostoevsky's work - those of Nikolaj Berdjaev , Shestov, Mikhail Bakhtin, will be useful to you. Dostoevsky's true counterpart is Nietzsche's philosophy, it also pierces like him. I thought of a great book you would like to read! It is Nabokov "Invitation to a Beheading" I recommend it to you.

I just finished Invitation to a Beheading. It was a little bit of a slog, but much more coherent than The Brothers Karamazov and I think I'll be thinking about what it was saying for a while. Thanks again for the suggestion!

thank you for the reply :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69865.26
ETH 3687.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.25