The Writing Contest YOU CAN'T LOSE

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

ompletion.jpg

This is a simple contest. I'm going to start out with the rewards you will receive simply by participating.

  1. You will receive an upvote by me of a post of your choosing(present or future post)
  2. You will receive a resteem by me of a post of your choosing(including future post)
  3. You will receive SBD from me.

There are no losers and there are no winners. However some will receive more in way of SBD.

Here's How It Works

This is a contest targeted at creative writing, specifically writers of fiction. The contest will measure how quickly you can put ideas together and how many words you can put out in a certain amount of time. In the case of this contest the allotted time will be 20 minutes

To enter the contest and start the timer you will post in the comments. Something like "ready!"

I will then respond to confirm that you are still ready at your computer. Respond again to confirm.

I will then give you a setting, character, and problem.
Example: (setting)Meadow, (character)dog with ADHD, (problem)dog is lost

Once I have replied with the setting, character, and problem then the clock starts. You will have 20 minutes to write on the provided prompt and post it as your reply.

MAKE SURE YOU POST YOUR FINISHED CONTENT AT THE END OF THE 20 MINUTES

You'll want to write as much as you can because part of determining the amount of SBD you will receive will be mostly based on word count. The more words, the better.

I understand that quantity and quality are mutually exclusive when it comes to prose, but this contest is about SPEED!

Other factors to determine SBD payout:
Coherency - How well I can understand what's going on?
Flow of Words - How well do your words and sentence structure flow?
Content - How creative and entertaining is your content?

Don't worry about typos or minor grammatical errors. This is about writing content, not editing content.

This contest is for fun, strengthening your WPH(words per hour) as a writer, and to provide an opportunity for your posts to receive more exposure.

UPDATE: For re-entries: You can re-enter the contest once per day. You will receive a TOTAL of 1 upvote and 1 resteem no matter how many re-entries. However, of all your entries your SBD payout will be determined by the entry with the highest word count(WPH). So participants have a chance to beat their old number for further gain.

This contest will run for the full 7 day post session.
Let the words begin!



My Steemit Works
Strangers in Orbit
A Night I'm Not Sure I Want to Remember
Arte's Big Leap
Gory Glory
Bobbie Blade and the Mantis Shrimp

Sort:  

ok got your setting, character, and problem. Ready?

Coffee shop in USA
Alien
Doesn't know he's an alien
Timer has started!

For what its worth, Phil was a good looking guy, he'd spent most of his day punching keys at the office. He walked into his regular diner around 7pm, Angela smiled as him as she does to every customer that walks in though some how he suspected his smile was something a bit more special. Three days ago, she slipped her number into his bill, he'd been reluctant to call her.
Phil had his usual like every other day, sat there watching the screen as Fox Sports reviewed the NBA season, talk about Le Bron and Curry, "blah blah blah" he muted to himself as he suddenly felt a headache accompanied by a high pitched tone. Sprawled over and clutching the sides of his head, he winced loudly as Angela ran up to him. He could hear distant sounds glaringly and coughed up green goo that was unknown to him or anyone else. After five minutes of excruciating pain, Phil managed to get himself together, the paramedics had just arrived and got him into the van, on his way to the Hospital, Phil laid in the stretcher more ponderous than in physical discomfort.
His true being was manifesting and the faux body created on his home planet Zelphion in the Berdimga Universe was expiring. Phil would retain all his human memories and in time gain his extraterrestial memories and perform his original task: to scout the earth and learn about its inhabitants.

242 words(in 30 minutes instead of 20) so that's 384 WPH(words per hour)

Great flow to this one. Definitely hooked me. Thanks for participating!

Let me know here in the comments which post you'd like upvoted and which one you'd like resteemed.

SBD pay out will be determined and sent at the end of the 7 day session.

Time's up! Whatcha got?

Sorry I was a bit late, was teaching some kids and wanted to write during break period, which is now. I wrote mine already

It's all good, enjoyed the read @belemo!

ok got your prompt, confirm you're still ready please.

Very ready

Insane Asylum
guard/employee
power outage
Go!

The weather is 25.9 degrees celsius in a typical African home. Jumper who used to be Federal agent with Interpolbut was unfortunate when his cover got blown in a mission got his slim body injected with drugs that make him utter gibberish most times to whoever on sight.
His former agency after numerous attempts to get him back to his senses found out that he was no better than a vegetable decided to relocate him to the tropics with a guard attached to him.
On this very day, Jumper after his usual late meals at night decided to cool off his body under the fan. Not even 30 minutes of relaxing, the power went off.
"Damn", Jumper cursed as he yells at his employee to bring in some cold drinks for him. Sky his employee who has turned into a free drinker after being bored courtesy of watching a semi sane Jumper 24/7 had other plans with the drinks as he has soaked his system with enough liquor that evening.
To satisfy his boss cum insane Jumper, he hurriedly made his way to the streets in search of his gibberish uttering boss.
Unknown to the world and agency, Jumper has received his senses back and was only playing insane for the sake of his dear family.

217 words = 651 WPH
Very interesting bit! Thanks. Let me know which post you would like resteemed and which you would like upvoted.

SBD amount will be decided at sent at the end of the payout period. Thanks!

Thanks for the opportunity too. I will make the post tomorrow. I will send the link as reply here. Can I participate multiple times?

updated the original post for details about re-entry

Ha! What a cool idea :)
I'm finally done with the pre-sleep tasks around here so I'm hitting the hay. But tomorrow I will check in with you. Tag you at the Isle or catch you around and do this when you're available. Sounds like a blast. Will I disqualify myself if I take the seed and turn it into a post?

thanks Jess, night night!

no, you won't disqualify :)

you should change the contest rules. how are people to know when you are going to answer and who says that is when they have time. just post a topic and people can comment ready and then comment 20 minutes later with their written text. sure, they could cheat that way, but this way they don't need to wait online, maybe for hours, to see when you will comment.

I'll admit the contest is sensitive to when I respond, but if I post the prompt ahead of time they can exploit things easily. So far it's working, so we'll see how it goes.

What says when time starts is when I give them the prompt.

They don't need to wait though. That's why I ask them to confirm that they are ready.

Okay, bring it!

She's decked out in one of those gypsy-looking dresses, hair hanging in tangled clumps down her back, wet with the sea. I'm chilling on the dunes, wondering whether I wanna go get to know her, when she bends down to pick up a piece of driftwood.

She glances over both shoulders as if to check whether the coast is clear. What in the...

Holy shit. No she is not. Oh my god. This isn't even right.

I can't take my eyes off it, though it's not remotely sexy. I can't stop watching because I can't stop thinking splinters. Jesus, how high can this chick be? I mean, yeah, driftwood can be smooth but it isn't smooth as say--no--better not say.

After about three minutes she goes rigid and still and I'm wondering why this shit always takes so much longer when more than one body is involved. For her part, she's just laying there and I can't help wondering what will happen if the Cleavers show up for an early fall stroll along the shoreline. This is priceless. Theater of the absurd.

Her dress is hiked up around her waist, the least inviting nakedness I've ever witnessed on display. I've got to get a pic of this.

But as I start to crest the dune the most bizarre thing I've ever witnessed, becomes the second most. Here comes a goddamn dog. Off-leash, and clearly intent on that driftwood, which--by the way--appears to still be firmly in place.

He trots right up. A big fucker with the hungry look of a stray about it. He grabs the end of the wood and start to shake it. Well that seems to be a wake up call! The hippie sea hag bolts upright and whacks the dog right on its nose. But it's one of those wimpy vegan whacks and it just pisses this mutt off. He forgets the stick, but lunges for her throat. She's high as a kite and flitting through her masturbatory afterglow and hasn't got the wherewithal to even raise her arm a second time.

Teeth sink into the soft flesh below her jaws and he shakes his head, tearing her so fast no scream can even escape. My blood runs cold and my feet run for my car.

Fuck, I shoulda known better than to think I could get some at that shitty cult beach.

LOL! just read that one out loud to my wife. She laughed her ass off.

400 words exactly = 1200 WPH, wow nice job Jess. Way to roll with a tough prompt. :D

Lol, I'm happy it brought some laughs. Can I please fix my typos now? I'm dying.

The contest was really fun though! What a great challenge. Never done anything similar and I'd definitely do it again :)

yeah go ahead, they're your words afterall.

beach
horny hippie chick
no men in sight

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66795.37
ETH 3087.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72