Sort:  

Yes, I do touch-type with Dvorak now. The switch was quite the experience!

I find that very intriguing.

How fast are you able to type? How long did your retraining take? Can you switch back and forth?

I think this would be excellent subject matter for a Steemit article... :D

😄😇😄

How fast are you able to type?

I am sitting around 30-50WPM

How long did your retraining take?

I am still working to get back to my QWERTY speed of 64WPM but am comfortable for the most part.

Can you switch back and forth?

No. 😅 But than again I never set out to be able too. The rare times I need QWERTY I muscle through it or I just change the bindings via the OS.

I think this would be excellent subject matter for a Steemit article.

I should do a recap soon since I have not talked about it since I switched.

Very cool... Thanks for the answers.

I wondered particularly about the switching part, probably because people fluent in multiple languages can switch painlessly... But I suspect "muscle memory" to be somehow fundamentally different.

Another example of that: whenever I've tried to "switchfoot" while surfing, I've failed miserably. Yet I know there are those who can do so.

It is all about muscle memory. I learned where all the keys are located it about a week, but my fingers just did not want to do it. Even today, if there is a word I have yet to type on the Dvorak keyboard I have to slow down, or else I get a weird mix of QWERTY and Dvorak.

Wow... What a struggle!

I once learned to enter text as ASCII sequences on a HEX keyboard, and got pretty proficient at that... ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66960.97
ETH 3088.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72