The Powerful Magic of Words and How to Harness it for Steemit

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

How to write on steemit

Introduction

At age 26, I woke up from a slumber that made me wander aimlessly through life. I decided then that I wanted to have a mobile lifestyle. I wanted to work from my laptop, travel and decide my own work hours. The internet was the only avenue I saw for someone like me who doesn't have a college or university degree.

I failed in that pursuit for years. I'm incredibly grateful for those years of stuggle, they've shaped me and ultimately have brought me to where I am today.

Blogging

One thing that I did for 2 years was to blog every day...sometimes twice a day. English is my second language and I've never wrote much in my life before. So you can imagine how much I sucked at the beginning.

After two years of blogging...I didn't have much to show for(in earnings). I'm sure that a lot of people thoughts back then that it was a complete waste of my time. But looking back, I think that it was the most powerful activity I could have ever engage in to be prepared for something like steemit.com

Are you new to blogging? Please be patient

I get angry at people who come here with no experience and no audience and expect upvotes to rain down on them like manna from heaven. There is much more to steemit.com than writing words online.

Even if you only make $0.50 per article, it's still more than I ever did for 2 years while paying for hosting, domain names and plugins.

Blogging is more than writing words. It's writing copy that is engaging to your audience. It's networking in a way where people see you as a valuable ally. It's creating ways to keep your audience engaged with your blog.

Learn the Craft!

Here are the few things I did to get better at writing:

1. Copy by hand great sales copy

You might won't believe this or think it's crazy but I copied by hand "Lazy Man’s Way To Riches Ad by Joe Karbo" everyday for an entire month.

Copying by hand sales copy is incredibly powerful. Just realized and let it sink in:

This ad sold 3 Million books without it ever been available in bookstores.

To be considered a best seller, you have to sell 5000 books. When you sold that, you're already in the top 1% of writers. This guy was able with a single page of "words" to sell a book for over 20 years consistently.

By copying great copy, you start to think like the person who wrote that ad...I lack words to explain how it works but it does. To this day, this was the most powerful thing I ever did to improve my writing.

NOTE: This is exactly what famous writer Hunter S. Thompson did. He copied the "The Great Gastby" by hand

2. Write everyday

Writing every day is difficult at the beginning. But believe me, the more you write the easier it gets.

Find the best time for you and the best setting. I find that my best time is first thing in the morning with a coffee. Somehow that's just how it is for me.

The more practice you get, the better you get at the craft. There is nothing to replace that.

3. Tell Your Story

Always wrap your content with context. We are people of stories. Stories are memorable and they move us beyond our own self. If you want your audience to feel like they know you, you have to let them in and be more transparent about how you are just like them: someone who's half messed up, that has struggles and victories, someone who's doing it's best to slay their own personal dragons.

Be open about who you are and find a way to attach your story to the content you are presenting. People will love you for it.

Sort:  

Even if you only make $0.50 per article, it's still more than I ever did for 2 years while paying for hosting, domain names and plugins.

right on the nail head! (is that even a term?) i think that a lot of people who don't find success don't realize both the competition and also how hard it is outside of steemit to ever have a shot at blogging and earning a living. I was surprised to come to steemit and find relative good success. Am i there yet, no. but i can see small steps all the time. nothing comes easy, not even on steemit. But as my skills improve so does the attention for my articles.

LOL! If I got 0.50 an article I would be thrilled! Any advice for people who just can't do the chatrooms? I have tried, it is too overwhelming for me, and I keep seeing the advice that I HAVE to network in the chat rooms to grow. I mean, literally, it made me cry to just sit and try to figure out what was going on, I have a very low tolerance to excessive data input and all the stuff onscreen even when no one is talking is almost as bad as a mall at Christmas... which I have not done in over a decade now...
I am enjoying my time here, but I do not seem to be doing very well. I have over 2000 posts, nearly all original, and I think I have 3 that made over $1. The ones where I really open up about who I am and the "issues" I face get no attention, and that is making it harder and harder for me to open up. If I am not helping anyone, why air MY dirty laundry?
Sorry, this is becoming a ramble... Thanks for the insights!

Input overload! I get you! I think you have to just keep at it. Stay active in the comments. (I've seen your comments a quite a bit)

It does seem hard when you write and no one sees and then it gets harder to write. But he did the same thing just on other platforms. At least here you can get active in comments. If you can get on chats it comes faster I suppose, but if you can get in a lot of comments it will still come. And if you can't get on steemit very often but keep getting in the comments when you do, it can still come. It's all just a matter of time, if you don't quit.

THANK YOU for the encouragement! If I had a "strategy" comments and contests would be it... I finally caught my "vision" for the potential here, I really want to try to manifest that so I try to be persistent. A few kind words makes it easier, thanks!

You're welcome. Trying to encourage myself in the process lol. I can't get on steemit often enough to make things go any faster for myself, and I have the input overload too on discord so i feel ya. I happen to be off today, otherwise we wouldn't even be having this conversation right now, and I may have missed your comment altogether.

:) And of course we meet on a day I am swearing off voting. I have not had a 100% vote in... maybe since I joined. It is a silly goal, but I am trying to teach myself "voting control" but here is a tip! that is worth twice my full vote anyway! A pleasure to meet you, I will try to watch for you in the future. I am a stay at home wife, I often get all day to play on here... maybe not a good thing...? lol!

You can distribute a lot more rewards around if you don't keep your voting rate so high. You don't get the satisfaction of seeing a large amount drop on one person, but you can distribute a lot in total. You only lose 2% of your remaining voting power with every vote. So the curve flattens out pretty quick and you can fling votes and rewards all over the place.

Thank you! I just got my slider, still learning how to run it. A little drunk with steem power perhaps...? lol!

Enjoy your slider! At least the hangover from using steem power doesn't feel bad! ; )

Thanks for the tip, kind of you :)

The voting thing is not like FB likes for sure. I think that's where the slider comes in to play, in the future. You have to be aware of your voting power if you want to give any value to someone.

I think that's were the long game comes in to play. When you have built up enough steem power to have the slider, AND have enough to where a smaller percentage of your vote actually gives someone value, then you can spread more around. But alas, it's hurry up and wait! If you can get on any time, that's and advantage for you if you plan for it. You got this.

I love moments when people chatting here. Comments are keep coming. Does steem migrate to chat? It's hard for me to find someone who not only copy paste something or make generic comments.

I don't spend much time in the chat rooms either @fishyculture. And while I appreciate the advice given by others, I think ultimately we have to find our own way on Steemit. I am still learning, of course, and really don't give much advice since I too don't make that many SBD's.

For me, it's genuine interactions. I love seeing photos of places across the globe. I love hearing about other cultures through food, stories, etc. I tried to post once a day, but alas I cannot. I want my posts to have some substance because that is what I want from others.

Take care......and know that you aren't alone.

Thank you very much! I am excited about what COULD be done here, I just have to figure out how to do it... trying to get there, but meanwhile all encouraging words are taken STRAIGHT to heart!

The important thing is you are still here and still trying. I can't guarantee you'll one day be a superstar on Steemit, but since you started in August and are still working at it, you are doing at least one thing correct. I can't comment on "success through chat rooms", I avoid them like the plague myself, but if I could offer one suggestion as a small step toward success, it would be to find a community you like and join. I belong to a couple that provide support and an increased opportunity for rewards. Please check out the @qurator and @make-a-whale communities. I think you'll be glad you did.

Thank you, I will check those out. I have tried to join a couple, "Peace, Abundance, Liberty" sounded right up my alley, but I have never "hung in there" long enough to actually have a conversation. I thought about holding a contest, give a SD to anyone who could spot me in a chat room long enough to actually speak to me... lol!

I have never been in the chats either, I thought this was a blogging platform! I am following you @fishyculture Its good to find someone here with similar thoughts. Hope you have a good day!

P.S. You don't HAVE to do anything here this is steemit not the TSA for crying out loud, don't listen the people saying this. Chat is for developers and people looking to conspire to get more for their vests. If you believe you writing is more valuable than the time it takes to do this then it is, we are the deciders of value here after all ;)

it will go to the success in future

This post received a 0.257 SBD (100%) upvote from @upvotewhale thanks to @alishannoor! For more information, check out my profile!

Even if you only make $0.50 per article...

And that $.50 can turn into $1.00 or $1.50 in a month or 6 weeks like it did since the start of November.

You bring up a valid point, people are awry in their expectations when coming on here. It is the financial aspect which attracts people here, I get that. Hence, people have the money motivation when starting. I know I did.

However, the longer I am here, the more it changes. The money motivation is not about me, it is about others. I earn more to improve my SP so that my VP is higher which gives others more in my votes. It is a wonderful circle.

Almost all the money I have coming in is because of others...I cannot grant it to myself. Sure I can do some with self voting but that doesnt get me far at a couple bucks a vote.

I just wrote an article that sharing is caring. I was drawn to the program you outlined yesterday (or the day before) because you are sharing the "wealth" with others. Steem isnt really the currency on here, it is upvotes. I applaud the decision to pass it around with as much impact as you can.

There are many on here where a few dollars here and there will change their lives substantially. We need to foster this idea as much as possible.

Words are verbal manifestations of our thoughts. That said some of the best writing comes from the heart.

I wish everyone think like you. :/

Thank you @saqlaink.

The mindset is changing. We are all here to help each other. There are a few bad apples but, overall, many are dedicated to making steemit and the entire blockchain as successful as possible.

Making the steem token extremely valuable will change a lot of lives and that is the goal. Anyone can come on here and start participating no matter what his or her background, financial situation, or anything else AND start making a difference in their lives as well as the lives of others.

Please let me know if I can do anything to help you out.

Thanks for the kind comment.

Very well said @taskmaster4450. can you give me any advice on steem power up and when to cashout sbd? :)

No I can't @saqlaink, I cannot. I can only tell you what I am doing. Each person's situation and circumstances are different so you must do what is best for you and yours.

I have a long-term bullish view of STEEM. My belief is that the token is going to be priced much, much higher a year from now. Thus, I am not cashing out at all.

As for the SBD, presently I receive my rewards as a 50/50 split. Since I have no idea why the price of SBD ran up, nor if it is going higher or is just a blip, I am used 1/2 of my SBD to power up and leaving the other half in SBD for now.

In essence, my rewards are 75% in SP and 25% SBD...If the spike in SBD looks temporary, then I will power up. However, if it looks like it is going to run higher, I want to have some just in case it explodes.

I hope that helps you some.

Thanks a lot buddy. :)

Thanks so much sir for this post.

That your number 2tips is what i have issues with mostly.

Writing every day is difficult at the beginning. But believe me, the more you write the easier it gets.
.
Find the best time for you and the best setting. I find that my best time is first thing in the morning with a coffee. Somehow that's just how it is for me.
.
The more practice you get, the better you get at the craft. There is nothing to replace that.
.
You know, even if i try to write everyday, i still dont get enough motivation and inspiration to go through it.

How do i overcome this sir?

Always wrap your content with context. We are people of stories. Stories are memorable and they move us beyond our own self. If you want your audience to feel like they know you, you have to let them in and be more transparent about how you are just like them: someone who's half messed up, that has struggles and victories, someone who's doing it's best to slay their own personal dragons.

Well said talking or writing about our own story could be alot more easier than trying to write or build someone else work, As there will be inspiration to write down and also it is easier because different things happen around us everyday and this alone can get us different articles If we sit and put stuffs together, I'm new and have been told how the beginning might be tough but I am ready to go down with steemit because I have no limits.

Thanks, good advice all round. I' okay at creative writing, but have never been able to get my head around copy writing - it seen like an alien thought process. I will try hand copying and see whether I improve.
Resteemed and followed. Nick

And i am so glad i read this...

You actually know you are right about this:

Blogging is more than writing words. It's writing copy that is engaging to your audience. It's networking in a way where people see you as a valuable ally. It's creating ways to keep your audience engaged with your blog.

Its the bitter truth, blogging stretches beyond the monetary rewards, it should be done passionately irrespective of the returns...

And anyways, thank God for steemit.com which has made it very possible and easy to reward quality contents.

I am glad i read your blog today, always full of inspiration and things to keep people going.

Keep being amazing!!

I get angry at people who come here with no experience and no audience and expect upvotes to rain down on them like manna from heaven. There is much more to steemit.com than writing words online

Exactly so many people out there just come here thinking they can just do the normal write up and expect something big, not knowing that there is much to it as you have said earlier, Starting as a newbie on steemit.com is very challenging and one has to buckle up in order to overcome hurdles and be on the right part else you just loose hope and see that you no longer have interest for steemit.com, 100% patience and perseverance is needed in tree race of steemit this could be achieved by taking your eyes off the prize and focus and cordial relationships with others with time the money will find you.

@cryptoctopus,
Actually I am still struggle what should I write daily! English is my secondary language and so far not fluent in it! But as you said, I won't let it go! I want to do my best and this article inspired me to do so! Thank you very much for sharing such valuable content with us! In last couple of weeks of time I made small progress, so I am happy and will try my best and will do my best!

Cheers~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63161.84
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97