Hazy Memories

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Meijen dreamt of the past and felt a pang of melancholy. At a certain moment of her life, she had been happy. It was a different happiness from today, when she remembered and smiled at the memory. In those days, she jumped in glee. Or did she? She supposed she did. The past had happened, but how could she trust her brain to keep an exact copy of it? Or was that even possible?

"Milady, you must not!" a guard warned when she tried to leave alone.

His words felt like an injection of acid in her veins. "Must not". She thought. What was it worth being a queen if it meant she wasn't free to roam her realm? Her right hand trembled on her cane as she tried to keep herself together. Then she opened her eyes quickly, and with a terrifying gaze beaming into the guard's eyes, she raised her left hand and put a knife right below his breastbone.

She wasn't strong enough to pierce beyond his jacket more than a milimeter, but that was enough for any living being without immunity to her poison. He'd last a few more days.

She walked forward, leaving a dumbfounded guard, looking at the place where a tiny puncture had taken his life. He knew the symptoms, he'd seen the victims first hand. Yet he never thought he'd fall like that.

He looked around and noticed his brothers in arms, all with a solemn face. They knew his fate. He looked down and felt himself be taken by the bio-hazard team into quarantine. No euthanasia; everyone spent their last days in agony in the yellow room.

Meijen put the knife in its scabbard, hidden beneath her tunic, then caressed it, feeling its cold wooden texture, the tiny places where, like terrain, its surface rose and descended, creating the tool that had accompanied her for such a long time. She'd never named it. She could now. Lucy. That was a good name. The bringer of light.

As she walked alone on the dimly lit road to the market sector, the strong feeling of melancholy inundated her senses. Perhaps it was good that time passed, that the surroundings withered around her. She could now feel her majesty for surviving for so long and be glad that she'd been lucky to be happy once.



---

I was away for almost a week! I had stopped because I felt I had to keep a certain aesthetic rhythm to my blog (and my creative thoughts were not following that rhythm). I decided to change the river's path a bit. I'll be posting stories with more variation to them.

Did you like the story? Would you like to suggest topics for my next stories? I may not promise to deliver, but I'll consider them for the next posts! Also don't forget to upvote/resteem and all those things that help me a lot. It means the world to me to have you guys support me in my artistic journey. I'll be seeing you in the comment section!

layer-3.png

All images above were taken from Pixabay, a royalty-free image source.

Want to chat with me? Join our Crypto Empire community on Discord.

CryptoEmpire Banner

Sort:  

i feel like an entire poem could be written around the line: "His words felt like an injection of acid in her veins". i just bought a new sketchpad that is totally blank ;)

We have to fix that with aaaaaaaart!! And maybe it is possible! If you write it I'll be happy. Or maybe I can do it later. Going out!

How about a Shinobi and his princess doomed love story

I'll check it out. I don't generally write on pre-developed universes, but it might be fun, or otherwise, I might take ideas from their plot. Thank you for the suggestion. :)

Nice job, Sharon. I like the exploration of the reliability of memory:

In those days, she jumped in glee. Or did she? She supposed she did.

Lol, love the savage queen.

He knew the symptoms, he'd seen the victims first hand. Yet he never thought he'd fall like that.
He looked around and noticed his brothers in arms, all with a solemn face. They knew his fate.

Could this also double as a metaphor for how comrades can be 'taken down' here at Steemit? We see powerful players destroying our comrades and feel a sense of impotence.

Thanks for sharing your artistic journey. I love to see evolution and growth as it happens. You've got a talent for creating other-worldly atmosphere.

Suggesting topics for your next stories. Ok :D I like this elderly or sick queen. Can we see a bit of her backstory? What made her fragile? Why does she feel threatened to the point of murder? That sort of thing. I think, if you write a bit of her biography, it'll open up even more creativity.

Thanks for sharing
Cheers
Anj x

Could this also double as a metaphor for how comrades can be 'taken down' here at Steemit?

Yes, it can be interpreted as a general metaphor for the complacency that people show in letting a comrade down against a "bigger" cause. The "bigger" cause can be survival or loyalty to a cause, in this case, loyalty to the "queen" (they call her something else; you'll see if/when I post more about her, probably soon).

I'll try to take your suggestion. I had something written somewhere about her. She has a biiig backstory and some fun scenes. Thanks for the suggestion. I hadn't thought of posting more about her soonish. I've actually been delaying the next post for lack of ideas that I liked. I need to write more!

That's great if you've already got some backstory on her. She's a great character, really well drawn.

I look forward to your next piece.

cheers
Anj x

Check my latest one, it's the backstory you suggested, although not complete. There's more to come.

I love your story! I kind of want you to make an entire book out of it haha. Dang you're a crazy good writer. "Meijen dreamt of the past and felt a pang of melancholy. At a certain moment of her life, she had been happy. It was a different happiness from today, when she remembered and smiled at the memory." <---That totally hooks you in right from the start. Especially I think since so many people can relate to feeling nostalgic. Also, "The past had happened, but how could she trust her brain to keep an exact copy of it?" I love that line, the way you compared the human brain to an inanimate object like a filing cabinet or something. That's the kind of creativity with words that brings writing to life and makes it good.

:)) I'm really glad you like it. You know, this story is part of a big series I've been developing for a while. Big in the sense that it covers a lot of time (millions of years). I have only written maybe 6 or 7 stories for it at most.

Right now I'm developing another storyline too. This one is Meijen's universe (basically the same universe as this one except Meijen exists lol) and the one I'm doing nowadays is the Frozen Hell universe (which is more mythological; it follows the biblical universe but Hell gets frozen because of magical reasons and there are many other supernatural phenomena).

I found that Meijen is a Thai name, BTW. Could you confirm that for me now that you're there? Lol.

Awesome!! surpassing yourself, I wish I read a story about premonitions, conspiration, multiverses,
passionate love, a blonde princess with heterochromatic iridis and unavailable for the mortals. haha, I promise symbolic UpVotes x)

I have just the right chance to include that. I wasn't thinking of publishing my story, which has a character that might fit your description, but I probably have to now that you requested it. :) I'll dig it up and make it publishable.

Wow yup! Well, I'm looking forward to it, but you take your time,haha thanks <3 :)

Amazing content. Thanks for sharing

:) Thanks for passing by, @awolesgideon. I appreciate your input! I'm glad you liked my little story.

Nice story, gonna follow you for more.

Thank you for reading it and for the follow. :) I'm sure you'll find more pleasing stuff in the future. Meanwhile, you can browse my previous ones. I have written many beautiful stories in the past.

Also, welcome to Steemit! You've been for a couple weeks now, but you're still starting. I wish you success in your journey.

This post has received a 1.96 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @cryptosharon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66455.53
ETH 3036.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67