Weekly Update For 100 Days of Poetry Challenge (Week 13)

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

100 Days of Poetry Challenge
-----Weekly Update [Day 87]-----

New Assignments - Week 13
Leave your comments from last week's assignment below.


redicilous - abstrsact.jpg


negstrip1.jpg


Introduction

Hello everyone - pardon the late update. We've arrived at Day 87 on the 100 Day Poetic Journey. Week 13 (out of 14) officially began two days ago at 6 PM GMT on May 30th (Day 85). Here's the basic spreadsheet showing the calendar dates for each day of the challenge, as well as when weeks begin, if you'd like to reference it. The final "week" has two extra days in it since 100 does not go into 7 evenly.


points-space.jpg


Comments and Weekly Finds

Please comment the results of your Week 12 Assignment on this post. Here's a reminder for what it needs to contain (structured however you prefer):

  1. The names of the two poets to whom you were assigned to leave impressions.
  2. Links to the poems you chose to leave them feedback on.
  3. A link to your "Weekly Find," which is one poem by anyone in the challenge in the past week you found notable.

If you'd like to get a poem of yours critiqued live during our Critique Thursday session you should DM Guy (Thunder_God#4441) on Discord the links to feedback you left in the past week and a poem of yours you want detailed feedback on by the Wednesday before. (It must be 250 words or less due to time constraints.) Even if you can't attend class you can get a piece reviewed because there will be an audio recording of the class for you to listen to at your leisure.


negstrip2.jpg


Assignments for Week 13


The next assignments are listed below. Note for those that use a smartphone to access Steemit: you may only be able to see one column in the table. Please log in using a computer to view both of your assignments. Every week I use a different method to pair people up. As a result, there's some overlap from previous assignments, so if you have the same person as you've had before, it's not an error.

Week 13 Assignments

Poet name IAssignment IAssignment II
@acousticsteveo@blessedben@firststeps
@adebayopaul@whack.science@hartfloe
@ayahkasih@corderosiete@mineopoly
@blessedben@firststeps@rexdickson
@corderosiete@ayahkasih@mineopoly
@dmilliz@sayee@hazem91
@ehisoria@riahdex@sansoncarrasco
@firststeps@rexdickson@tygertyger
@hartfloe@whack.science@adebayopaul
@hazem91@sayee@dmilliz
@josediccus@mamadini@marlyncabrera
@mamadini@josediccus@marlyrncabrera
@marlyncabrera@mamadini@josediccus
@mineopoly@corderosiete@ayahkasih
@mrbreeziewrites@skodie@zeleiracordero
@rexdickson@tygertyger@acousticsteveo
@riahdex@sansoncarrasco@ehisoria
@sammynathaniels@spellmaker@trucklife-family
@sansoncarrasco@ehisoria@riahdex
@sayee@dmilliz@hazem91
@skodie@mrbreeziewrites@zeleiracordero
@spellmaker@sammynathaniels@trucklife-family
@trucklife-family@sammynathaniels@spellmaker
@tygertyger@blessedben@acousticsteveo
@whack.science@adebayopaul@hartfloe
@zeleiracordero@mrbreeziewrites@skodie

points-space 2.jpg


Class Schedule Reminder

The days for poetry class are Monday, Wednesday, and Thursday. On Mondays we look at various published poets from different time periods, from classic to modern to contemporary. On Wednesdays we have flexible sessions where we can share our poetry or hold discussions on various topics related to the arts. Thursdays remain our Critique Sessions led by @geekorner.

The time for all of the classes is the same as before: 5-7 PM UTC in the Steem Schools Live Class section of the Discord. Please join when you can, and let anyone interested know they are welcome to participate!


negstrip3.jpg


Recap

Please comment the results of your Week 12 Assignments and Weekly Find on this post, even if you already left the comment somewhere else. Read the directions at the top if you need a reminder on the relevant info to be included. Please check your assignments for Week 13 which you will have one week to complete. (You will leave the results of that assignment on next week's update on Day 92.)

Send links to your feedback to Guy (Thunder_God#4441) on Discord if you would like your poem (250 words or less) critiqued in our live sessions. The deadline to be included in the critique class is Wednesday at noon (UTC) the day before. Hope everyone has a great rest of the week!


points-space 3.jpg


Gratitude

I recognize & honor
the same divinity in all of you
that is within me, and all things.


points-space 5.jpg


Huge thanks to all of our donors!

  1. @d-pend (600 SBD and 300 STEEM)
  2. @violetmed (110 SBD)
  3. @hopehuggs (50 SBD)
  4. @girlbeforemirror (20 SBD)
  5. @yahialababidi (15.017 STEEM)
    6.@rensoul17 (11 STEEM)
  6. @carmalain7 (11.11 SBD)
  7. @madushanka (10 SBD)
  8. @taliakerch (10 SBD)
  9. @firststeps (8 STEEM)
  10. @mineopoly (1 STEEM & 6 SBD)
  11. @moeknows (5.44 SBD)
  12. @nikolina (5 SBD)
  13. @hazem91 (5 SBD)
  14. @whack.science (5 SBD)
  15. @rensoul17 (5 SBD)
  16. @josediccus (5 STEEM)
  17. @naquoya (3 SBD)
  18. @corderosiete (3 SBD)
  19. @nicholas83 (2 SBD)
  20. @acousticsteveo (2 SBD)
  21. @trucklife.family (2 SBD)
  22. @hartfloe (1.337 SBD)
  23. @johnrenald (1 SBD)
  24. @flysky (1 SBD)
  25. @zeleiracordero (1 SBD)
  26. @zulacut (0.6 SBD)
  27. @realnairda (0.5 SBD)
  28. @akdx (0.25 SBD)
  29. @emekasegun (0.2 SBD)
  30. @setiagunawan (0.1 SBD)
  31. @nasrol (0.1 SBD)
  32. @rexdickson (0.1 SBD)

To donate, send STEEM or SBD to @d-pend or @steemitpoetry. Donations go towards the prize pool of this challenge, and any above that will be powered up to @steemitpoetry, an account to support the creation of poetry on the STEEM blockchain. Thank you very much to all who have contributed thus far!


negstrip5.jpg


flippedpencil.jpg


negstrip 6.jpg


Writing & images
By @d-pend
6/1/18

.
Join the Steem Schools
Discord here: https://discord.gg/hyfYQ9P
.
We have free poetry classes
on Monday, Wednesday, and Thursday
from 5-7 PM UTC, open to all!


points-space 6.jpg


bright-erasers-pinkblue.jpg


stripfinish.jpg

Sort:  
Loading...
Loading...
Loading...
Loading...

My assigned poets for week 12 were @tygertyger and @marlyncabrera.

My critiques for each poet respectively:

All Caught in the Game Majestic

Solarium

My pick for the week was by @d-pend. I love how he takes historical monuments and looks at them with the mind of a poet.

Is There Anybody There

My two poets were @sansoncarrasco and @corderosiete

Here is my feedback for @sansoncarrasco: https://steemit.com/steemitschoolpoetry/@mamadini/re-sansoncarrasco-ssp-100-days-challenge-day-85-shrikes-take-em-20180530t214043484z

Here is my feedback for @corderosiete : https://steemit.com/poetry/@mamadini/re-corderosiete-salt-water-splashes-my-face-original-poem-100-days-poetry-challenge-day-82-poem-81-20180529t030335056z

Because of a conflict of interest I have decided to opt out of the last two weeks of Critique; yet, I shall see the challenge through as it seems many others are doing without participating in this bit as well. I am feeling on the outs, sadly, and it’s not a lovely thing. This was something I desperately wanted to avoid. It also seems that I am not heard in private so I am making this known and clear here. I can see (and read) the writing on the wall.

I'm glad you are not leaving the challenge. I'm sorry you feel on the outside. Know that I love having you at our stuff, and I highly value all your input.

<3
I'm just going to carry on in an organic way, which seems to be okay, and that's all I was asking for with the clarity. When I was at university the rules of assignments were not mutable and I have been a bit indoctrinated by that system, sadly.
You've been wonderful and very active, I have very much admire that and I am glad to call you a friend in this sense. :) Thank you.

Is Saturn strong in your chart? Or is Virgo prevalent? Lol. I find your remarks strong and to the point. But also playful.

Is Saturn strong in your chart? Or is Virgo prevalent? Lol. I find your remarks strong and to the point. But also playful.

::giggles:: I really admire the way you think. ;)

I have black moon Lilith in cancer. Leo moon (for the drama of it all, all the fixed fire and showmanship) with Mercury rising (Gemini ruled, which the rising is how people generally perceive you, me in this case), with mercury in the 12th house (which is ruled by Taurus in my chart, my Sun sign). Mars is in the 11th house which plays out in the ways one communicates in organizations, for example, this, steemit and this challenge.

My 7th house is ruled by Capricorn and that surely is some of what you perceive, also. lol.

I have a great chart to be a writer and artist, but also, I have all that dark stuff that brings in the occult and rebellion side of things as active and predominate; and all the classic “Witch” stuff that some people dream of having, which is not actually that great.

Most of my friends that have known me in real life a long time think I come off as aggressive in text too and they know me, and know it’s not actually the truth, it’s just that my words and ways of presentation are strong (again, all that Witch stuff in the chart).

I could talk at length about this, but I’ll stop here.

This week I was assigned @ehisoria and @sayee - two wonderful poets!

The poem from @ehisoria that I decided to share with you and provoke some thoughts is called - In My Head.

The poem from @sayee is called The Test and it's trippy one. Have a read and enjoy!

The third poem that I want to share with you is written by @angelveselinov and is called The Balance Searcher.


That's it for this week! Have a time to listen when your heart speaks!

Peace - Love - Gratitude - @spellmaker

Hello everyone, I trust everything is going on pretty well with the challenge.

Last week I was assigned to poet @hartfloe. I chose to comment on this poem -
https://steemit.com/steemitschoolpoetry/@hartfloe/lies-tie-100-day-poetry-contest-day-80 by hartfloe

And I was also assigned to @adebayopaul. I found this his poem interesting - https://steemit.com/poetry/@adebayopaul/a-dream-in-a-picture-frame-day-78 by @adebayopaul

Surfing through the steemit school challenge, I usually find @josediccus poems amazing. Last week, I found this poem very interesting. This is my weekly find.
https://steemit.com/poetry/@josediccus/withering-an-original-poetry-day-84 by @josediccus

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63892.45
ETH 3117.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87