Two Pints In London | @daily-musings London Travel Blog

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

big-ben-bridge-castle-460672.jpg

The window is open, and from my hostel bed I hear the night sounds of London. It's a melody of grinding underground trains, hydraulic air of buses stopping, men chatting outside the pubs, and the occasional long winded honk of a driver who is still frustrated from the office.

I had two pints of Innis Gunn IPA from the bar downstairs, and the generous levity provided by those two glasses has left me in a thoughtful and nostalgic mood. My extended travels are nearing an end, and although I spent most of the day working on my resume in preparation to merge back into "the real world," I still carved out a few hours to walk around the city and take in the essence of it.

Amidst the sharply dressed London natives, it didn't take long for me to feel insecure about my outfit. My jeans haven't been washed for a week, I'm wearing proper Colorado hiking books (I'm literally the only one wearing hiking boots), my grey turtleneck was salvaged from the lost-and-found of the yoga teacher training I attended in Spain, and my scarf looks a bit "Irish countryside" with it's green paid pattern. I smelled better that I look - I think - despite my hostels' lack of hot water.

Anyways, I give credit to the people of London for raising the bar of style even in foggy, damp, weather. I'm not quite sure how some women can maintain a brisk pace on uneven ground, in rain, in heels, hair perfectly coiffed, while carrying the heavy attitude of English indifference to the chaos around.

I spent the afternoon in an amazing coffee shop called The Wren. The building used to be a church, and a rather fine one at that, with vaulted ceilings, stone exterior, and stained glass windows. Now it's a cafe that serves things like avocado and smoked salmon toast to banker types, and there's a projector screen situated where the altar used to be. In progress and poshness we trust...

Anyways, enough rambling. Despite my suspicion that I almost got robbed this afternoon, and the creepy drunkards that I think whispered "pistol whip" and snickered when I walked by, London is a city full of charm. It is, and feels, like the older, wiser cousin of New York. Tomorrow is my last full day here, so I hope for a bit of the sun that the forecast is promising.

Sort:  

I really enjoy your writing style. We at @travelfeed would love to see some longer travel blogs from you!

Thank you @jpphotography. I have some new posts brewing! I'll be sure to tag @travelfeed!

Awesome! We can't wait to read them, simply use the tag #travelfeed and make sure that your post has at least 250 words in English and proper sourcing (if any)

I love London; my mother's side of the family is from there. Like France, Britain feels like the parent of Canada, too.

When I was a teenager, my family and I went to a carnival there; some of the carnies were creepy like those drunkards that you described.

Yeah it's a pretty great city. That's funny I can imagine how France and Canada would have that same dynamic.

Great read! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @jpphotography. We just gave you a small upvote together with over 60 followers of the @travelfeed curation trail.
Have you heard of @travelfeed? Using the #travelfeed tag rewards authors and content creators who produce exceptional travel related articles, so be sure use our tag to get much bigger upvotes, resteems and be featured in our curation posts!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

Thank you! Just started following @travelfeed, and I'll be sure to use that tag with my future travel posts :)

That's great! We can't wait to read your travel stories!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60947.53
ETH 2913.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56