VersePerfect – Review of Free Writing Suite for Poets

in #writing6 years ago

"...your personal writing room, replete with a shelf full of books that are invaluable to both the developing and craftsman poet."

VersePerfect (1).jpg

There’s something deeply personal about the packages you use to write.


They're a bit like your home, or that comfortable chair, or the restaurant which you go to because it reminds you of that unforgettable kiss you had with the crush that never worked out. They’re things you grow to understand as you use them more and more until you become so familiar with their ways, they become as good as writing on your favourite pad with your most comfortable pen.

Writing is as personal as it gets. It’s the way we choose to express ourselves to the world. It’s not surprising that we invest ourselves and get attached to the tools we acquire, even if they’re only computer programs.

So I want to tell you about the love I have for one that I use, one that’s functional, faultless and free.

VersePerfect is offered primarily as a rhyming dictionary.


For that purpose it’s the best I’ve come across by a mile. But it’s much more than that, it's a fully integrated productivity suite for writers of song and verse.

The main area is a text editor where you write your poem. If you’re writing free verse, that’s most of the clever functionality you’re going to need. It’s when it comes to writing in form that VersePerfect comes into its own.

As you type your words, the program automatically searches out rhymes for them and displays the results in small panels to the right of the screen.

image 2.png

Not only does it do this with normal words but also with phrases and proper nouns (which can come in very handy when writing comic verse) and also a list of context words, which give thesaurus like results but in relation to commonalities of theme (thinking about that now, it would be dead handy for verse libre). And all this in a free package.

As an aside, someone asked me the other day, “Yeah, but isn’t using a rhyming dictionary cheating?”

It’s not cheating, no more than using a dictionary, thesaurus or – in the case of poets – the must-have dictionary of etymology.

In writing comic verse, it’s extremely handy to have rhymes to aim for because you can hunt out words which lead you to greater humour. When it comes to more serious verse the best use of a rhyming dictionary takes a 180 degree turn and allows you to eliminate rhymes you know you don’t want to use.

So far good, but where VersePerfect really shines is when writing form poetry.


Built into the program are the recipes for all major forms: sonnets, sestinas, terza rima, villanelles and so many others are just a click away. The brilliant thing is, it shows you the required rhyme structures and syllable counts just to the left of each line, and even displays how many syllables you currently have – outstanding.

You can see all this in action on the villanelle which I am currently editing.
Image 1.png

There’s a lot more on board, too many features to go into in all honesty, but highlights are: a spellchecker; hyperbolic thesaurus (a truly novel way of looking at and finding related words); internal links to Wikipedia, Wiktionary, translation services and a gamut of online dictionaries. It also has some example form poems which should help you get going if you want to try your hand at one.

All of this has made Verse Perfect my go-to poetry writing software for more than ten years. It’s a little known treasure that deserves much more love. If you write verse in any form, it really is a must-have.

It becomes your personal writing room, replete with a shelf full of books that are invaluable to both the developing and craftsman poet.

And did I mention, it’s free? It was written by a team of people lead by inspirational author, Bryant McGill. It runs natively on Windows, and also on Mac with the help of WineBottler.

To pick up a copy, Download Verse Perfect (via softonic).

Summary

  • Full productivity suite for writing poetry and lyrics
  • Integrated form poetry charts
  • Text editor with spellcheck
  • Native, comprehensive rhyming dictionary
  • Internal links to countless online reference books
  • Hyperbolic thesaurus
  • It's free





Witness20banner_1.jpg

Photo by Štefan Štefančík on Unsplash



Sort:  

Amazing work. I will definitely try this. It is very useful for the beginners to correct their mistakes.

Where has VersePerfect been all my life!
gets out valentines day card

Haha -- knew you'd like this one.

This sounds like an amazing tool, @damianjayclay. The most intriguing thing to me is the fact that it provides the structure for form poetry. These have always seemed complex and scary to me, and I have never attempted one. Perhaps I could do so using VersePerfect.

It's a clever idea I think to have them all on board that way so you can see what you're aiming at as you type, rather than looking at a separate document. This really is one of the best, free, writerly pieces of software out there imho.

Oh, neat! I'm definitely going to use this.

I look forward to seeing the results.

so awesome app, this is what I'm looking for..

This tool is priceless! I have been using Master Writer which was not tailored strictly for poetry. Thank for this sharing this information.

You're welcome. If you get the chance, check out my Poetry Editing 101 posts, you might find them interesting. If you're not a member already, why not come to The Writers' Block. It's a great workshopping community. We're building a great group of poets in there. :)

Thank you for stopping by. I checked it out two weeks ago and loved it! I followed you on Goodreads as well.
I heard about The Writer's Block and I was thinking of becoming a member but time was short I had a few projects going on. I am hoping to do it soon.

Good stuff, I'll definitely check this out! Tools are great. Now we need something like this geared specifically for song lyrics, or maaaaybe it's already part of this software piece :D

VersePerfect is great for lyrics too, I've used it for writing poetry and lyrics for over the last ten years.

Hi @damianjayclay, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Thursdays for Pimp Your Post Thursday at 11am EST or 7PM EST in the Steemit Ramble Discord or:

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord

This is lovely! Thanks for sharing! Will definitely try it out!

That's super cool! For my last poem I was performing synonym search on Google. Bookmarking. Thank you @damianjayclay!

I hope you find it as handy as I have.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62584.99
ETH 3171.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81