Forever As One

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

C52CBC2C-2E74-409C-9787-CBC90E3F0265.jpeg

It’s a sidewalk that’s already poorly lit, add to it, the marine layer just rolled in.
A surprisingly chilly winter evening quickly switched from cool to brisk.
I held her as close to me as I could - “Are you good?”

...She smiled - We headed for the car.

Her lightly fragranced hair caught a draft, my senses caught alert.
I’m so captivated by her I can’t remember what I just had for dinner.
The sidewalk lighting is misty, it’s glowing in a yellowish-auburn haze.
I couldn’t hold her any closer and a young man, notepad in hand, landed in our way:

8798DB03-46B6-4182-9E30-8827526F154F.jpeg
The Interview:

“Excuse me, I couldn’t help but notice both of you, she’s gorgeous, I’m a reporter do you mind if I record this?”

Thank you! What’d I miss? Who’d you say you are again, is it normal to record two people you stopped walking?

“My apologies, I got an article for school approaching about relationships, can I get your attention a minute?
Your arm’s enriched with this beautiful gift, my readers insist, please tell us your secret.”

...A hint of laughter escaped my smile.

Sometimes I step aside and try to talk we wonder why but every time something don’t seem right.
Looking from behind, I’m confused, either she’s blind and subdued or there’s something worth looking into about you.

“You gotta be doing something, what is it? I’m not the only one wondering what the trick is.
My notepad’s handy can we start from the beginning, I’ll be quick, agree to give me your consent?”

Sure, what’s on your mind? This is the first time its been suggested I respond to a strangers questions.

“I read about the cruise ship you two met at awhile back, remind us again, how long ago was that?”

It’s been four years and five months actually, the fact she still likes me leads me to believe she may be crazy.

...She smacked my arm and laughed. “That’s my cue to leave,” she said, “you’re going to
embarrass me and it’s freezing, gimme the keys.

Since then my pride said goodbye to nights spent with rye and my bride relayed the same fate to wine.

“Sounds like the two of you are making moves, you look beautiful together, any talks of little ones in the future?
And grandkids c’mon you can’t tell me her mom hasn’t thought about being a grandma.”

If she has she hasn’t said, instead our likeminded heads agree our home just needs one bed.
None for us, it’s obvious we’re still as young as everyone forced to grow up since introduction to children.
Besides if you dig into our lives a few times you’ll realize not all ties are alright.
I love kids and they love me back, they don’t call me dad and I’m ok with that.

“What about the future, you investigating destinations? I imagine every day together’s a vacation.
My readers would love an explanation, would you mind sharing some inspiration?”

I’ll hang out another minute, get your pen, my wife’s alone though and I don’t want to keep her waiting.
Dating her was daring to say I was scared is an understatement, I remember how our first date went.
I didn’t stand a chance, I remember trying to hide my sweaty hands, acting like I was calm on the surface.
Her purest voice makes me anxious every time, I could write a rhyme since the opening sentence like this and still get butterflies.

“But tell us what your secret is, you must be doing something different.
I’m taking these notes, please open up with it - What is it?”

The only secret I got isn’t a secret, everyone knows it, only no one asks it of their self.
Be transparent and stay true to her. To you, say goodbye to the mask of everyone else.
Make sure to make her laugh like nothing else and be her fiercest protector.
Be her shoulder, dry her tears, remind her ears you’ll never forget her.
Open doors and treat her like the fragile package that she is.
Happiness is free but only together can it be accomplished.
Honesty above everything, make that priority every day.
She isn’t perfect and neither are you, hear what I say? Neither are you. Get that straight.
Common mistake to think one partner is the greater strength, that isn’t the case.
You’re each others equal, half’s weak when one half’s away.
Hey I gotta cut this thing, she’s waiting, you get everything you need?

“Indeed! Thanks for agreeing to talk to me, I won’t take up anymore of your time.
Pleasure was all mine, I’m done, I’ll call it Forever As One - You guys enjoy the rest of your night!”

E4124137-2DC4-4AA6-8BD1-65077A5EF82F.jpeg

Sort:  

What the heck, did you just write that?!?! The more time that goes by the more amazed I am by you. Truly grateful to have made your acquaintance that turns into the best friendship anyone would be lucky to have. Your words have to go unmatched by me because this is just too deep, unparalleled. I love you Dandays.

I sure am glad you like it, thank you! iheartu all the time.
It was fun coming up with all the one-liners but really, as in literally, I cut myself off at the end because I could make sentences rhyme about why I’m the luckiest guy in the world a long time.

Thank you @mrsluckiestguyiknow

This is up there with your best. Really, I’m impressed by you all the time. Muah

Wow that was so beautiful, perfect !

Hey. You know if a dude covers my favorite artist, Prince, smashes a Home Run and then puts beautiful and perfect together Ima run with it right?? Thanks man!

Thanks for stopping by my friend @edprivat.

HAhaha and you still manage to give me a little promo in there ! You rock!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Hello @dandays, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you @creativecrypto, I’ve seen you stop by my page a few times now, it’s always a pleasure!

Truth be told: I poured more heart into this piece than any of my previous pieces, I really like it a lot. Before you and your crew came through here I was beginning to think it was just me.

Thanks a lot for stopping by @creativecrypto!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34