Does It Rain That Much in Vancouver?

in #writing6 years ago

They call it Raincouver.

D5757B60-8F9B-4B32-BE2B-BCEEFC4AA6BC.JPG

In Vancouver, it rains for most of the year. I’m talking maybe for 8 months out of 12 you’re getting mostly cloudy or rainy days. Vancouver itself is a beautiful city, and I think for a lot of people, what Vancouver can be on a sunny day is just so worth it that we suffer through the rest of the year just to enjoy the beautiful summers.

But damn, are those 8 months tough. You wake up every morning and check the forecast, you look out the window, you realize it’s another cloudy day, or worse, it’s raining out. You make sure you have your umbrella and proper shoes on when you head out. Very often when it’s cloudy out you forget that it’ll probably rain later and you forget to bring your umbrella. The days you forget to bring an umbrella are the days it will rain 100% guaranteed. The wet cold seems to get inside you and chill you from within. Let’s also not forget how fun it also is to step onto a crowded bus full of wet people and wet umbrellas and navigating a slippery wet floor. You feel rather depressed.

While I don’t have SADD, I still notice a difference on my mood, productivity, motivation, and energy when the skies are grey and moody versus when it’s sunny. I also have a tendency to blame the weather for not allowing me to do certain activities, like, “I was gonna go for a hike today but it’s raining.” Technically, I could still go for a hike I just needed to be dressed appropriately.

On the other hand, when the sun decides to say hello in Vancouver, all of a sudden you get a huge burst of energy and you feel like there are so many things you could do that day. Life is perfect, and this is exactly why you live here. It’s truly incredible how much the weather can influence you.

Well, I suppose April showers bring May flowers, right?

[On a side note, I did recently purchase myself a rainjacket that is absolutely perfect (Waterproof! Windproof! Breathable! Warm!) and is actually making me not mind going out in the rain so much.]

093AAEFA-58E8-44E0-A5B4-27F897EA2386.JPG
Burrard Bridge

Let me know down below what kind of a climate you live in and whether weather (haha) changes affect your mood?

You can also find me here:
Instagram @daphnexplores
YouTube www.youtube.com/daphnexplores
Facebook @daphnexplores
Twitter @daphnexplores

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65992.78
ETH 3014.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75