[Short Story] - what if

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

question-mark.png
Designed by Rawpixel.com


“Dude, you know what just occurred to me?” Rob was lying drunk on the couch, trying to play video games on his console, and failing miserably. “What if we’re not actually here and we’re both just dreaming?”

I looked at him and laughed out loud hysterically. We had both smoked some herbs beforehand and, coupled with the alcohol we’ve consumed, I laughed at everything he said.

Surprisingly, though, he didn’t laugh along but stayed dead serious.

“Dude, for real. I’m not joking. Don’t you ever feel like none of this is real and you’re just dreaming?”

“Well, yeah, but…” I tried to come up with a good argument, but couldn’t. I just kept on laughing.

“See? What if none of this exists and we’ve just met in my own dream. Or yours. Maybe it’s me who’s just a projection in your dreams. Or we’re both stuck in someone else’s dream.”

“Tell you what. Let’s give your theory a try, okay? If you’re actually sleeping right now, and this is only a dream, you should be able to wake up, right?” He nodded. “So, try waking up.” I couldn’t help myself but laugh out loud the moment I finished that sentence. It was stupid enough to be funny on its own, but I was even more curious as to how he’d try waking himself up.

Robb sat himself straight and dropped the controller on the floor. He sat still for a couple seconds, trying to figure out what the best way to wake up could be, then started pinching himself all over his body.

Watching him pinching his arms, legs, and even his nipples was beyond funny to me, and I couldn’t contain myself. At some point I even joined in and started pinching him everywhere as well.

“Well, that’s not working, is it?” I asked after a solid minute of pinching.

“Nope. I can feel it, so I guess I am, in fact, awake. Unless–“ His glassy eyes shone bright and his smile grew wide. “Unless I’m in some kind of a suit that allows me to feel everything as if it was really happening. You know, like some high-tech virtual reality video game that also lets you feel what your character feels.”

“Okay,” I understood what he was saying, but it was too farfetched for me to actually consider as an option. “So how would you wake up from that?” I laughed again. Despite the silliness of his idea I loved seeing him try stupid things.

“I have to do something the suit doesn’t let me experience. Maybe if I do a barrel roll? No, no, too simple. Do a handstand and see if the suit can force all my blood into my head?” He looked at me and I immediately knew he was going to try it out. “It’s a start.”

He got up and positioned himself against the wall. At first I wanted to talk him out of it, but it was too good a scene to miss. I grabbed my phone to record him fail the handstand, but before I could fire up the camera he was already upright on his arms and smiling at me.

We waited in silence for about thirty seconds until his face turned completely red, then I burst out laughing.

“That’s some serious high-tech.” He was determined to try further. “What are some other ways to wake up?”

“I don’t know. I usually wake up when I die in my dream.” The moment I finished my sentence I knew I had made a huge mistake.

“You’re right. When somebody shoots you or you fall with your bike or something similar.”

“Rob, no. I didn’t mean that.” I tried to take my words back. “It was a fun little experiment until now, but seriously Rob, don’t do anything stupid.” It was as if I sobered up in an instant and knew I had to talk my friend out of whatever idea had passed his mind.

“No, no, it’ll be fine. Trust me. You don’t need to die in your dreams to wake up, just experience some sort of shock, you know.” He stood up and walked over to the window.

“Rob, dude, don–“ He kept on going despite my efforts to change his mind.

“But you can’t really jump scare me if I’m expecting it, so…” He looked out the window–we were in the second floor. “I guess I need to fall.”

“Rob, are you out of your mind?” I ran up to him and dragged him away from the window. “Don’t be crazy. You’re going to get yourself killed!”

“Relax, Mike. I’ll be fine. I just need to shock myself awake.” He was completely calm whereas I was panicking.

“I’m not letting you jump. Seriously! You’re not jumping!” Still holding him by his shoulders, I shook him as hard as I could.

“Oh, relax. I’ll be fine. I can’t even die from this height.” He removed my hands from his shoulders. “You know I’m stronger than you, so quit trying to stop me, okay? I’ve made up my mind.”

“You’re not thinking straight, Rob!” I tried grabbing him again, but he shoved me away so hard I fell on the floor.

“I’ve made up my mind, Mike.”

He opened the window and looked how high it was, then crossed himself, and started climbing on the ledge.

I sat on the floor, dumbfounded, just the way I landed when he shoved me and just stared at him, with terror in my eyes. My friend was about to kill–or at least severely injure–himself and there was nothing I could do about it. A part of me didn’t want to see it, but another wanted to go closer and watch him fall.

“Here goes nothing,” he said, and right before he was about to jump I ran toward him, wanting to grab him by the hand to save him, but failed to catch him.

The two seconds of watching him fall felt like forever, but just before he would hit the floor, he vanished into thin air.

What the fu–, I couldn’t believe what I saw.

I rubbed my eyes and blinked a couple of times, but surely enough, he was nowhere to be found. He had vanished into thin air.

I tried to come up with a possible explanation, one that was more believable than the obvious, but couldn’t. The only option was that we actually were both inside a dream and that he had managed to wake himself up.

I started nervously walking up and down, trying to beat the idea of jumping out of my head, but I couldn’t help but think that if it worked for him, it would most certainly work for me as well.

I stopped near the window and felt the soft summer breeze on my face. I looked down and immediately became dizzy–I was afraid of heights.

I took a deep breath, swallowed the lump that has formed in my throat and climbed up on the window ledge, trying to look up instead of down the entire time.

I crossed myself the same way Rob did and took the leap of faith.

Unlike Rob, though, I didn’t wake up.

Liked what you read and want more?
Want access to exclusive stories?
Or maybe just want to support me as an author?

I present you with my first published collection of 33 morbid stories!


Some stories are exclusive to the collection and some are freely available on the STEEM blockchain. The latter were largely overhauled before publishing, so you're in for a treat even if (you believe) you've read them before.


Orders placed until 1st of October (2018) have a 20 % discount!

Short stories I have written so far:

Morbid
Funny/Misc
Happy ending
• Living off the grid
• A young thief
• A traitor from hell
• Not alone
• Millitary testing grounds
• Bigfoot
• Love
• Rabbit hole
• Reborn
• Salesman
• Rebellious food
• Ssssnails!
• Mission Erased
• Dog's breath
• Green Chewing Gum
• Turkey Trauma
• Stuck in a loop
• Abducted
• Killer clowns
• A penny
• Fear
• Morning coffee
• Midnight sunshine
• My new home
• Protest
• Revolutionary product
• Psychoanalyst
• Dream Catcher
• Superhero
• Black Market
• What if
• A dolphin tea party
• Stained hands
• The giant depressed onion
• The red star
• Long-distance Relationship
• A dream
• Potato
• Dragons
• The Jungle
• A life lesson
• Unicorn meat
• The Purple Road
• Immortal Store Clerk
• Artemis' Hell
• A scientist's journal
• One of many
• Gone in 10
• Loss














• Homeless man
• A blind date
• A wealthy man
• Happy ending
• Asshole soulmate
• My bunny Fluffy
• War veteran
• Meet a villain
• School trip
• Crafted armor
• Radio Show





















Want such a table for your own work? Or even make it better? Learn how to do it here.

Should you find this post after the 7 day period and wish to throw me an upvote, please consider upvoting a newer post of mine. Thanks!

Sort:  

<3 oh I see what you meant about an idea that nearly fit tellastorytome. Was he not high enough, did he not believe enough... or was he not someone who was able to wake up. I like the idea of dream worlds existing without you, the story still playing out after you wake up, lots of imagination food in this one!

Hmmm, you now made me wonder if all the dreams I ever had are actually just glimpses of other dimensions and they are all still going on to this very day, without me ever catching another glimpse....

(they are)

Is there any way to open a wormhole and reenter them?
Some of them are pretty damn cool and I'd love to pay them another visit.

UPDATE: Hi @davidkain / @svashta this post has been featured in Exponential! C² Featured Posts, a daily publication of the @c-cubed blog. Check it out :)
https://steemit.com/curation/@c-cubed/20181002t225900882z


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62401.16
ETH 3012.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55