You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When It's Time To Edit...Take A Break First

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Charles Darwin had a similar philosophy ... except here he sometimes waited many years before publication. "During subsequent years, whenever I had leisure, I pursued my experiments, and my book on Insectivorous Plants was published July 1875,—that is sixteen years after my first observations. The delay in this case, as with all my other books, has been a great advantage to me; for a man after a long interval can criticise his own work, almost as well as if it were that of another person. The fact that a plant should secrete, when properly excited, a fluid containing an acid and ferment, closely analogous to the digestive fluid of an animal, was certainly a remarkable discovery." (Insectivorous Plants). But I am not recommending such a long time-interval for steemians!

Sort:  

That's very interesting information. Thanks for sharing it. I never knew he waited years to publish but I have heard of several modern authors who do similar practices. I vaguely think I read it was Stephen King who will write a book and then leave it to go write a different book and then when he's finished with the next book he'll return to the first to edit it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70979.17
ETH 3849.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48