Patience

in #writing5 years ago

They say patience is a virtue
But how long should I wait
I've stayed for days on end
I hunger and thirst
But yet I am told to wait.

imageImage Source

I'm at my journey's end
I feel like I can't wait any further
But should I give up
Is this the darkest night
Before the dawn comes.

I've often wondered
How long is too long
For how long should I stay
Waiting for that which I desire
For the prize my heart yearns for.

It would be a shame
If after all this while, I get nothing
That I'd been waiting in vain
Waiting for what was never coming
That I played myself.

But I know what would hurt more
It would kill me to know I was close
That I'd have won if only I exercised more patience
If only I'd stuck to the course for a while longer.

imageImage Source

I never want to fail
I never want it to be my fault
So no matter how perched I am
No matter how tiring the wait
I know what I have to do.

I'll stay the course
I'll fight my fight
And will see it to the end
Till I get what's mine, I'll never quit
I'm here till the very end.

They say patience is a virtue
Well I've got plenty!

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Dawizy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got 100.00% upvote from Yensesa. Thank you for your continues support of Yensesa Exchange and being a member of Yensesa Residual Income

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16