What Should I Write About? - An Answer To The Million Dollar Question

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

When I started writing it never occurred to me that I will be able to write anything. I mean, with the kind of material around the internet I never stood a chance to get noticed. That was my line of thought then. It was intimidating.

I had started on a social website called Quora. I started commenting on most of the answers I liked. I tried to be creative while doing so. I got few upvotes on my comments. Felt great.

After reading so many answers I decided to start writing. I would not say I have achieved much. However, I am at a level where I can think of an idea and write about it. I have been appreciated by many strangers across the globe. I take that as my accomplishment.

Why my story? Because, I had that same question when I started writing.

At one random night, I was riding a motorcycle. The speed was around 70 to 80 km/hr. I had a deadly encounter with a pothole in the middle of a highway. I survived with the pillion rider friend. The wheel broke. It was middle of the night. I can never forget that night. It was horrible.

I was taking a walk the next day. Thinking. What if a pothole could talk? What would he say? If I write about it, how can I present its story in a different way? I thought and thought. I created a blog and wrote my first post. A Unique Resumé of a Pothole. Read it here if you like. https://steemit.com/life/@dev/a-unique-resume-of-a-pothole

Everybody has a different face. They have different experiences. Their perspectives are different.

Write about your opinions. Write about your story. Write about the stories of people around you. Write about what you think. Write about what you believe. Write about what you know.

There will be a time when you start adding your unique style to your writing. That is the time when people will like what you write.

Write more. Write well.

Sort:  

Just keep writing. Why filter it?

If something comes to mind, post it.

The votes will guide you.

Jude

Trust the votes, Luke!

The post is actually an answer to that question. Same way like you guided me. Thanks for your comment.

I agree, but the unfiltered writing should be in it's own category.
That's why I started this diary here

Point taken. I agree.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73