You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: For Writers, Rejection is a Rite of Passage

in #writing6 years ago

I don't worry so much about rejection because I can't really be rejected. While an editor may not find my writing suitable for his publication, his rejection of my writing says nothing about me. I don't have to take it personally.

I also note that every no is one step closer to a yes. And when I read of the rejection ritual that writers may develop to soften the blow, I can't help but think of Snoopy and his "Dark and stormy nights". Snoopy also had a huge pile of rejection letters. At least he got a response.

I can empathize with writers who have a rejection ritual, but I also have the sense that the need for a rejection ritual implies that a writer is taking the editor's response personally. Decades of reading, including The 4 Agreements has brought me to a place where I no longer take rejection personally.

Now I see rejection in writing and publication as a challenge. When i write here on Steemit and my posts earn nothing or a few cents, that just means I need to write more, to network more, to engage more. I'm actually planning on signing up for curation service. I know at least a couple of whales who rose to the top from curation service.

I am starting to see that service to others is part and parcel of success here in Steemit. So I'm going to work on that myself. And I can do it without making it personal.

That's how I "find a way through it". This too, shall pass. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63793.53
ETH 3193.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92