You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Writing and Finding Your Voice: What do You STAND For?

in #writing6 years ago

I have been trying to decide what I stand for in my writing for quite some time now. Thank you for the nudge to continue in that quest.

I told my wife once that I wanted my articles to be pieces of work that were “a pleasure” to read, the same way that some other author’s work just grabs me and sucks me in. I don’t necessarily think that means I want to write to entertain, although a little humor never hurts. I like to inform, to ruminate, to ponder, to educate. I guess sometimes I want to be all things to all people and I suppose my next step should really be to start to narrow down my focus.

As always, thank you for the thoughtful and thought-provoking post. You certainly add value to my day 🙂

Sort:  

Appreciate the thoughtful comment @dollarsandsense!

Much of the time, I have no idea what I am writing. I grasp a fleeting idea and start creating something... and then my mind tends to go a-wandering, and sometimes I get 100 words in and realize that I just "forked" my own post because a "shiny object" flew through the cavern that is my mind.

In the end, my ambition is merely to "speak authentically" and if that results in moving a few people respond with something deeper than a "nice post" or a "nice photography," then perhaps I have succeeded in some small way... not that external success is really that important. In many ways, the point of "success" was the moment I clicked the "POST" button.

Maybe I just want people to STOP for long enough to stop thinking about their shopping list or the next text they need to reply to...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63759.51
ETH 3318.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91