June 30 Days Writing Challenge - Life Hack - Day Nine: Keep A Journal

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Hello and welcome to the ninth day of the June 30 days writing challenge. If you want to know all the details about this specific challenge, have a look at the introductory post. In short, I will be posting every day a short tip, or technique, or opinion, something that you can call a "life hack". Feel free to join the challenge and post your own life hacks. I will do my best to upvote each day at full strength (about $3 at the current STEEM price) 3 posts tagged #challenge30days (leaving a link to your posts in the comments will also help).

Keep A Journal

Mind you, a journal is very different from an activity log (as we talked about in the previous post). A journal doesn't have this task oriented approach, nor the pressure of keeping it daily. In a journal you can write whenever you want (it would be nice if you could write daily, for starters, but there's no pressure) and you can write however you want.

I'm not talking about that kind of hyper inflated ego style journal, the one that starts with "dear diary" and talks about unicorns and whatnot. I'm talking about conscious unloading the extra burden we have on your mind. I'm talking about therapeutical journaling.

More often than no, this type of journaling is triggered by an emotional event. And reacting like this in front of an emotional event - meaning unloading all the shit in private - is way more healthier than exploding in plain interaction and creating even more havoc. Unfortunately, I'm talking from experience here. I know both ways: shouting your way out of a conflict - which is always, always a bad idea - and just keeping your mouth shout and describing the events, hours later, in a private journal. The second one is incredibly healthy.

There's this hardwiring in our minds which makes us believe that we really need to act now, otherwise we'll miss out. We don't really need that. And, above all, we don't really need to win every battle, with everybody. Sometimes, giving the victory to the other guy and moving on may be a more powerful outcome, in the long run.

I started to keep a journal in my early thirties, as a way to unload my work related stress, which started to creep in my personal life. And I kept it for years, as a therapeutical exercise, until I found other, more effective ways of unloading that stress (but more on that on future posts).

Im very grateful for this activity as it helped me a lot in regaining my balance and keeping a clear perspective on life. It works in many ways, but for this post I'll only sketch three benefits.

First of all, there is this feeling of breathing out when you are able to express you feelings uncensored, in your own words. You just let your mind lead and write down whatever it wants you to write. And, word by word, the mud that you didn't even know you carried in your thoughts is starting to move, clearing your sight.

Second, there's the accountability part. If you write something, it's yours already. And it will be there for many months or years. I sometimes read whatever I wrote 5 or 10 years ago and I have these deep feelings of compassion for the person I was at that time. It really helps me lower my judgmental filter and accept that all human beings are suffering, each in their own way.

And third, by writing something, you're really letting it go. You're consuming it, in a way. You make it part of the past. It's in the journal now, it's not within you mind anymore.

I could go on for hours and thousands of words preaching the benefits of journaling, but I will stop now, because we still a have a lot to go from this 30 days challenge.

I'm really curious to read about your life hack today. Leave a comment with a link to your post, if possible.

Previous Posts In The Challenge


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

OH yes i got it, the journal in which we wrote the things that are disturbing our mind, and to relax our mind we should write them on the journal so that our mind feel free.

Precisely :)

SAdly i'm not that type of boy :(
I can't express my feeling to other not even write them on paper, i just keep them in my mind, i know it not a good practice, but that's the way i am :) I just to share happiness, my tension are only for me :)

When i was 14 years of old i start to keep journal. i had a diary where i wrote my life story. That story hurt me more or gave me much joy in life , i wrote inside my diary. i had one saved diary in my home right now. i like to keep history inside them :)

Here is my post link for June 30 Days Writing Challenge - Life Hacks - Day Nine:Life hacks

https://steemit.com/challenge30days/@aaarif/june-30-days-writing-challenge-life-hacks-day-nine-help-your-soul

I once tried to keep a journal once but couldn't continue as someone got hold of the previous ones I wrote and didn't go well, so had to stop.

This is the link to my today's life hack

https://steemit.com/challenge30days/@yungchief/june-30-days-writing-challenge-life-hacks-day-nine-willingness-to-serve

Hi Dragos

Today is about food and ginger in my life hacks post. Feel free to check it out:
https://steemit.com/challenge30days/@acesontop/june-30-days-writing-challenge-life-hacks-day-nine-ginger-up-a-poor-digestion
Thanks for your past upvotes and resteems. It feels great receiving them and also being a part of the challenge.

Informative post , thanks for your information .

Upvote you @dragosroua

Thanks for sharing .....

Writing increases our knowledge. It is a good contest for all

Writing increases
Our knowledge. It is a
Good contest for all

                 - topbooster


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Thanks for the info @dragosroua

So true thought...
Your three point is so effective for writing skills.....@dragosroua

This is all sO clever. That’s for always keeping me inspired to journal!! Incredible as always, @dragosroua. Wishing you creative fire !This is all

Our daily routine is full of tension and burden of work, that put extra pressure on our mind, and to keep this pressure of from our mind, we should making journal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95