How Writing Got Me Through The Death Of My Father

in #writing6 years ago

girl-690327_960_720.jpg
Image Source

I was in my third year in university when i got a shocking call to come home that my dad was very ill. I could remember leaving my hostel in a hurry to get home. He was in the hospital, i had no courage to go because i knew it was more serious. Eventually, i was dragged down there by my immediate elder brother.

My beautiful jewel was so lean, i couldn't control the tears coming down from my eyes. I held his hands and kissed his palm. He looked up and smiled. I was his favorite as the last and only daughter. I saw in his eyes the wish he could stand up and hug me.

After a day with him, i got stronger and started writing poems by his bed side. After each poem, i would read to him and end it with I LOVE YOU DADDY. He would smile and blow me a kiss. It motivated me to write more for my first lover. Whenever it was my turn to feed him, i would sing his favorite song and read him a latest poem.

A month later, he got better but was still hospitalized. I got to his ward and he told me to sit. He composed a poem in his head and he asked me to write it down. It was the most beautiful poem written for me. I kissed his fore head and shed tears of joy. He held my hand and told me never to lose the poem.

He died days after. I could't cry, i read the poem over and over and laughed it all out until his burial - that was when I let out all the grief and sorrow i had bottled in. I miss him a lot and every time the world shows his ugly head, i read all the poems i wrote for him and the one he composed for me and i just know he is in a better place watching over me. Keep resting in peace Dad, if there is Steemit in heaven, please join and post so you can write poems about me and show God.

I hope one day i have the strength to post his poem here.
Thank you for reading, thank you for having me and thank you Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60859.14
ETH 2917.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61