You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Of starving artists and warrior artists

in #writing6 years ago

This is an awesome post and one I needed to read right about now. In some of my most frustrated moments I would whine to myself, "Is it too much to ask that I make at least minimum wage doing what I'm good at?" And now I know that this is too little to ask. I should expect the MAXIMUM for my efforts and negotiate from there.
A friend recently told me: either charge a lot or do it for free. But don't do it for chump change.

Sort:  

A friend recently told me: either charge a lot or do it for free. But don't do it for chump change.

Some great point you got here! If the quality of your work is excellent, then you can apply this advice perfectly.

If you charge a lot, because you work is worth it, then only the best clients will stay with you. "Premium" clients they are usually called. If you do it for free (Because of a good reason. Like getting exposure, helping some noble cause or something) then you are also doing an excellent thing.

But if you do it for chump change, then is like you were saying "My work is only worth this". And man, that's a terrible idea...

Thank you for your kind words!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57369.97
ETH 2943.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63