Steemians, we have a problem! Why are we constantly comparing our lives to others?

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

“Comparison is the thief of joy”
-Franklin Roosevelt

Why do we compare? Does it give us satisfaction? Maybe. Does it make us go crazy? Sometimes. Does it push us to better our lives? In some cases, yes. Does it add any value or joy to our lives? No.

I will admit, I compare my life to others a lot. I am not proud of it. In the world of social media, I find it very hard to stop comparing. I know that they are individuals, grow at their own pace and/or have other reasons to where they are at in life.. but I still did it.

Unfortunately, social media provides us with numerous platforms that help to quickly trigger that unpleasant self-disdain.

Facebook recently reminded me of just how a determinant it is to my confidence level.

I found myself comparing all aspects of my life, both internal and external, to a person I had never met. She was a stranger in every sense of the word, and yet somehow, her profile page caused me to question my accomplishments, appearance, and even personality traits.

I didn’t realize just how illogical this was until I explained it to someone, and, now as I type, I’m reminded even further.

Regardless of how illogical these comparisons may be, our emotional responses to such images can be so strong that they completely overpower our sense of logic.

Comparison will not disappear from our lives completely but we can work on ways to better ourselves by living our OWN life, not the life of that person you follow on Instagram.

Do you compare yourself to others? Tell me your stories, your thoughts or what you have done to make it stop. I look forward to hearing from you! Have a blessed Holyweek 🙂

main-qimg-f0c1170725f430edfa42bb5d81293262-c.jpg

Image Source

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63715.95
ETH 2946.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55