“Stop fighting your life!” *A small story

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

“Stop fighting your life!”

Ajahn is on the phone..
The elder monk Ajahn Danti Palo is calling me from his temple up the mountains at the border to Myanmar while i am back for some time and another story in the city of Chiang Rai a one and a half days journey away. Its the second time he is calling me this evenening and again its the right time. This moment i have the courage to pick up while i am on my bed depressed, lonely and without the power to really do something creative or positive. I am trapped in some negative thoughts about what i want and what i don’t have, thinking to much about my diffrent situations in relations to diffrent aspects of life.

“What are you doing?” He asks me...
“Nothing Ajahn...” I reply, knowing that he already got it that i am just again paralyzed and trapped in useless thoughts.

”You are fighting everything in your life..” he goes on... and again he repeats: ”stop fighting your life! Understand.?” Then he speaks in Thai to make me more understand..but my Thai is still very weak so i cannot follow the words...anyway i understand very clear what he wanted to tell me. Immediately I start to write down these lines.

Conclusion: I should stop all fighting.

Of course life is a struggle. And we always want to fight. Fight for a better life, fight for love, fight the system and fight the forces of evil. We have always learned that fighting is necessary to survive and to achive our goals. But haven’t we also learned that fighting causes more fighting and also suffering?

Maybe i am harping to much on the word fighting? Of course we should stand up for the things that are important to us. But maybe we should leave the axe at home and instead be more smart, mindful and kind and compassionate in the way we operate to achive our goals...

Let’s at least think about it...

At this point i would like to throw some more terms into play.
Acceptance, temperance, equanimity and faith...

Sometimes we should accept our situations like they are. Ok i am not a superstar, i am not rich nor bigger, smaller, smarter or faster — at this moment of my life’s journey.
... “but in my life i want to be all that. Its my dream my aim...” Ok dear mind, now its time to watch out for a little bit of temperance. And that’s also a way equanimity can be developed. Equanimity leads to more freedom in life and to more peace of mind. More inner freedom and mindfulness will also help us to get clearer about our real goals in life and more inner freedom will also help us to achieve these goals.

Last but not least all that implements faith. Have your faith in whatever suits you the best. But please have faith. Let’s have the faith to let go of all those blockades that hold us down. We don’t need to fight and destroy them. With more equanimity and faith we have the power to just let them go. They will disappear and there will be an open door instead. This door will bring us to a new room. Maybe thats allready the room we want to be in. Sure, this room will have even more rooms leading us deeper and deeper to the purpose and essence of our lives...

As always in life this is only one of many possible truths...Let me here what you think. I am new on steemit and will be very happy if you like to comment, upvote and share.
Much love and peace to the multiverse
4A52B9D5-233D-42EB-A075-9EC427B3E5CB.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71181.66
ETH 3647.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75