The Beautiful Bride Part #5 [A Nigerian Story]

in #writing5 years ago

A True Nigerian Folkore told by my grandmother. Well most of the story has been modified by me and a lot of things has been added also to make it more enjoyable.
I've always wanted to write about this.

Read Part 1 here
Read Part 2 here
Read Part 3 here
Read Part 4 here

Part 5

Omide informed a few of the men who had been visiting and proposing marriage to her about her birthday. There were five of them and they were all excited. They felt honoured and wanted to assure her that they loved her. They wanted to make it quite elaborate but she informed them that she wanted a private and low key birthday party.

'You know I lost my parents some years ago. I don't want to make any noise about my birthday. I just want to mark it in a modest way,' she told them.

They all agreed that they would respect her wish. The first man to bring her a gift was a man called Ayelafe. He was a tall, shy and good-looking man in his late twenties. He was a fisherman and was very proud of his calling. He presented her a gift of a beautiful ring that cool evening. She welcomed him warmly. Omide was noted for her warmth and infectious smile.

'My precious Omide, the beauty that has no comparison, I love you, I adore you. Please take my gift. It is a ring, just a symbol of love. No one can capture my heart like you. Give me your love because I deserve it. I will make it grow from strength to strength. I will show the world that we shall be the greatest couple of our generation in Iniga,' he said in smiles and affection.

'Thank you for this wonderful gift. Time will tell, time will tell,' said Omide who watched the man with great interest. She handed the gift of a ring to Abeni, her niece, who was present.

Soon, Ayelafe, the fisherman, left and another man entered. He was short and bulky in frame. He had lost two of his front teeth and was quite jovial and friendly. He ordered his assistants to bring in some baskets which contained foodstuffs like yam, millet, rice and a large tin of palm oil. He also brought kolanuts wrapped in leaves.

'Please have these for your birthday party,' you deserve to be the wife of a farmer, a hardworking farmer like me with plenty of food - yams, palm oil, rice, millet and kolanuts. Use these to entertain your visitors and well wishers. There are more from my barn, brimful of food Trust your love to Ajijedidun, the unique farmer who has food and other things to make you, your children and relations happy. Starvation is foreign to me,' he boasted.

Abeni was surprised by the man who spoke and behaved as if people were starving. Omide received th gifts and presented them to Abeni who was at hand to carry them to the store.

'Thank you Ajijedidun, this is kind of you. Time will tell, time will tell,' said Omide smiling.

None of the suitors visited Omide again that day. But early the following day, a man who dressed like a king came in. He was a prince merchant and had servants who carried his gifts for Omide. 'I am Olowolagba, I live by my name and those who know me can testify to it. I have brought my gifts which are expensive dresses, trinkets, umbrellas and other items. I would have provided a live band but I respect your wish to have a quiet birthday party.

'All these things are for you because you deserve the best. You are not just an ordinary lady, you are a special one for a special man. I have the resources to make you retain your beauty even in old age,' boasted Olowolagba.

'Thank you, the prince merchant. Time will tell, time will tell,' said Omide with smiles. The man left with his servants and Abeni carried the gifts to the store.

A few hours later, a tall fair-skinned young man entered the house. He came with two immaculate white horses. The horses were already tied to the tree in front of Omide's house.

'Beautiful Omide, my gift for your birthday is this beautiful white horse. It is meant to take you to wherever you want before the marriage ceremony. After this, you will ride the horse to the beastiful white house - "Olowoosenkanti Villa" where we shall live the rest of our lives. You deserve the best and I am ready to provide this, said the man with pride in his eyes.

'Thank you, this is kind of you. Time will tell, time will tell,' said Omide with all modesty.

The last person to call on Omide with a gift was a very short man. In fact, he was a midget. His name was Akeredolu. He had a very small bag. He opened the bag and brought out something from it. It was a small shining ring.

'Omide, here is a gold ring for you from Akeredolu. It u is precious and you are very precious to me. Be mine and I will assure you that I will treat you like a diamond. You illuminate the world, you illuminate Iniga, come and illuminate my home and my life,' said the diminutive young man.


PicsArt_11-06-06.52.38.jpg


'Oh, this is precious, thank you, thank you. Time will tell, time will tell,' said Omide. The man later left.

Omide celebrated her birthday with her closed relations. She did not divulge her plans to them. Only Ajini, her aunt and Abeni knew this. She informed her other relations that she would go on a journey and return home soon after.


...to be continued


Sponsored ( Powered by dclick )

dclick-imagead

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Hi @gamsam!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.439 which ranks you at #6730 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 93 places in the last three days (old rank 6823).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 306 contributions, your post is ranked at #265.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95