Leading My Own Miniature Village, in the Land of the Crazy Sun

in #writing5 years ago

Thatched rooves all in a circle, filled with loving grandmotherly types trotting babies on their knees. It’s a nice image. There is something to be said about the village. You always hear that saying. “It takes a village.” People that live in cities without extended family quickly realize the saying isn’t true. It doesn’t take a village to raise children...or does it?

I thought this yesterday afternoon while I drove myself around town, alone. My mom came into town—one of the few people I trust to watch my kids—and she encouraged me to go Christmas shopping. So I drove around town, staring at the blue sky and thinking about…my children. I ate some of the chocolate purchased for their stockings. It reminded me of Easter.

IMG_20181129_142835.jpg

A spherical world.

I then had a nice conversation with one of the employees at the thrift store…about my children. I had a weird conversation with the lady in front of me at the checkout line, which I attribute to the fact that it was not about my children. When you are the matriarch of a four person village, there is one subject that comes natural all the time, and the rest don’t.

So then I swung by the doctor’s office to pick up an order for blood work, because when can I ever run an errand like that without having to buckle kids out of car seats? I stood there waiting on the receptionist, staring at the TV screen next to me. They were trying to sell me on a disturbing gynecological procedure and I was losing more trust in my doctor every second that ticked by, when suddenly the receptionist spoke. My head swiveled back to attention rapidly, and the words tumbled out of my mouth rapid-fire, having been caught off guard. I read her face as she handed me the order. Yep, that one needs this test—definitely hyperthyroid. It’s the hormones’ fault, raking over the thyroid during the wild ride of pregnancy, birth, and the postpartum. Village, or no village; healthy thyroid or hypothyroid, mothers soldier on.

IMG_20181129_142928.jpg

Down the bridge and the blue, blue, blue sky.

I went home then, and while grandma played with her grandchildren, I walked the dogs alone. It had been the first cold night of the season. I love how the cold rushes against my face as I walk out into it. Old Man Dog sniffed the cold grass, wearing his Christmas sweater. The dog sweater makes us look like the frilly sort of people that paint their dogs’ toenails. Rather, it is about functionality. The poor dog is southern through and through—he shivers all winter long, even in the house. I thought on how babied the dogs were, before the children arrived. I felt a sense of relief. I'd reconciled my thoughts.

Some of us are born caretakers. It gives us pleasure to love and cater to our loved ones’ needs, putting others first. There is nothing wrong in devoting my existence toward motherhood, when that is the way I was born. Society loves the idea of the village. Shuffle the kids off with the babysitter every Friday night, so that you are free. Put them in preschool as soon as possible, so that you get a break. Motherhood is one phase of life, and its requirements lessen as the years flutter by. An opportunity to walk the dog alone, or a chance to eat Santa’s chocolate undetected of course is necessary occasionally. But more than that?

IMG_20181129_143123.jpg

I like crazy sun photos, in case you hadn't already surmised that.

I’m just fine leading my own miniature village.

Sort:  

I'm just looking at your blue skies and wondering how the mutt would get on where I live 😂😂

Not well, the poor old guy. We have a lot of breaks in the cold here. It is cold for a few days, then warm again for a few days. Helps him deal :)

I went jogging tonight. That cold air in my lungs kicked my butt.

I really like your crazy sun photos. And also your writing. Nice work all around the village.

The sun is such a looker, I just can't resist. Thanks, it's a cozy village here. I like to think of the dogs as the grandmotherly types, one dog tongue slurp across a child's face counts as a loving trot on the knee.

Thanks for stopping by.

You're doing a great job with your village! Eat more choco!

I was waiting for someone to give me that advice! Done! :)

Howdy ginnyannette! Big Dog doesn't like the cool weather? oh man...Jack loves it, he thrives on it, maybe Big Dog's fur isn't thick enough? Anyway I love the crazy sun photos! Speaking of dogs, the coyotes are starting their nightly ruckus just now, howling like crazy, Jack is on high alert. You guys have coyotes over there? I forget.

Big Dog loves it too. I was referring to Old Man Dog - his hair isn't very thick, and he's old so he is just slower moving. It just struck me as really funny that I refer to them as Big Dog and Old Man Dog. Having to type all that out is a little ridiculous rather than one word for their actual names :)

How eerie that must sound. We apparently do have an occasional sighting out here, but not often. I've never seen a coyote. That must be lots of fun for Jack.

haha! what are their actual names if I can ask, I know you like to keep some things private! lol. Ok that makes sense..poor Old Man Dog, but he probably doesn't spend much time outside in the winter anyway right?

The coyotes are amazing to listen to because there are so many different sounds that they make. . It can be so high pitched that it sounds like a woman screaming, then there is barking, then yelping, then yipping, then long and drawn-out howling in many different tones. It IS very eerie. Jack is mostly just curious and hyper alert but when I take him out at night, usually about 2 am, if he gets a scent of one, and he usually does, he gets all blown up like we've talked about before..like Big Dog does and he's like ready to fight. When he gets like that he can even be rough with me and growls at me! lol.I mean not viciously growls but semi playful growl.

That's very cool. I'm sure you enjoy it like Jack does. Jack getting all riled up and getting rough is a thing Old Man Dog does too. He also gets aggressive about food. It's pretty funny, I will set the food bowl down and he will growl at me instantly, like I'm going to take it back. He's completely bluffing though - I can kiss his nose while he's doing it and he won't bite. Crazy old guy :)

howdy this fine Tuesday ginnyannette! oh that is interesting because Jack will growl when it comes to food if you try to make him eat something, you offer him food and he'll start growling sometimes. He doesn't want to be forced to eat, then if you set his bowl down and walk away he'll eat it most of the time but he wants to be in control of when he eats! It IS a funny thing just like Old Man Dog though, not a serious growl but at first I was taken back until I realized he wasn't serious.
dogs are so entertaining!

I think German shepherds in particular have a lot of personality, and possibly stubbornness. Big Dog's mother was a full German Shepherd, and father I am guessing was a chow of some sort. Makes for a unique character.

howdy again ginnyannette..oh that is a unique mixture indeed. Yes German Shepards can be very stubborn but also very loyal and protective. Unless it's thundering, then they turn into shaky little puppies!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99