Let's Make a Story: Cabin in the Woods - Chapter 2

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Alright, @blacklux, you asked for a chapter, and I'm always honored to write one. Let's continue where your story left off:

image-2018-06-19 (3).jpg

“It is only ten miles out of town,” Josh said very mildly, trying to avoid another confrontation. He took a deep breath, drawing in the smell of summer rain on pine trees. The front door wouldn’t open, which only worsened Laura’s opinion of the place. He had told her that the wood was swollen from all the rain, but he wasn’t feeling optimistic about the whole thing either as he walked around back. That was, until he saw the view.

He hadn’t been to the cabin since he was a boy, and all those years had faded his memory. A small deck was set at the edge of a steep drop-off dotted with jagged rocks, down to the swift running river. The smell of rain, the look of green leaves everywhere, the rush of the river—it was exhilarating. It made him brush aside all their recent financial troubles. Nothing could have been more humbling than to ask his father to let them move into the abandoned cabin that hung over the family like a dark, immovable shadow. It couldn’t be sold, because everyone in town knew the story. But even that didn’t bother him so much at that moment.

image-2018-06-24 (1).jpg

“Ten miles to what town? A post office and a dollar store does not count as a town!” The atmosphere hadn’t calmed Laura any, in fact she hadn’t even noticed the picturesque ravine behind her. She leaned trustingly on the old wooden railing at the edge of the deck, like she was leaning against the railing on a cruise ship—that certainly was what she was used to. In an instant, before any warning could be made, the wood gave way. The board snapped free of its constraints on one side, just as Josh jerked forward to grasp her shirt. Laura’s fake fingernails did not inhibit her death-grip on the broken board that still hung attached to one half-rotted post.

“Christ! What were you thinking? You couldn’t survive that fall!” The words came out of Josh’s mouth swiftly as he still saw the terror in her eyes—in that instant she did not have the upper hand. “Everyone would think that I pushed you, just like…” He stopped himself, realizing he’d made a big mistake. Her eyes narrowed, her lips pursed, her eyebrows knitted themselves as close together as possible.

“So this is about you?” She snarled.

image-2018-06-18 (1).jpg

Josh stared at her a second and blinked, feeling almost a little guilty, but mostly relieved. How she could have missed that open-ended statement revealed how self-absorbed she was, but that wasn’t something he had time to reflect on.

“I’m sorry,” he said, mildly again. He turned the lock in the back door as Laura dusted herself off. He gave the door one good shove, and the smell of a musty attic pervaded everything. Laura made a dramatic show of coughing in disgust, then picked up her Chihuahua and gingerly stepped over the threshold.

“You cannot deny that this place is disgusting now!” She said after running into a cobweb, screaming, and dropping the dog.

“Look at this furniture,” Josh was only partially hearing her, focusing in on the silver lining. He ran his hands across the ridged edge of the kitchen table. “It is all wood, and solid.” She was going to say something degrading, but got distracted by the dog barking in the adjoining room.

image-2018-06-19 (2).jpg

“See, even Bella hates this place,” she said as she entered the bedroom. The light was dim in the room from mostly rotted curtains. Laura touched them, but they disintegrated in her hands, letting in a flood of light. The light revealed a dresser with an old-fashioned fabric stretched across it. Laying on it were lots of little jars that were discolored by very old liquids semi-evaporated. Amid the jars was a group of rocks, placed in a circle neatly, as though it hadn’t been decades since they had been touched. The layer of dust on them proved otherwise. She could vaguely see something beneath that dust, and when she rubbed a layer of it off she found some unfamiliar symbols painted on them.

“Don’t touch that,” Josh said from the doorway, startling her. His voice was firm again—unlike him.

“Why? This shithole is ours now, right? And everything that is in it?”

image-2018-06-19 (1).jpg

“This was my grandmother’s room. She was strange. Let’s just leave it alone, alright?” Josh tried being placating—that usually worked better with her. “We can just close this room off. We don’t need it. There are two other bedrooms. And we are only here for six months, remember?”

“What are you so scared of? The fact that you’ve already told me we have to seal our trash to keep the bears out is way scarier than these trinkets. Hey—your grandma left her old jewelry. Maybe she’s got something decent in here.” Laura began rummaging through an old jewelry box.

“This feels like desecration,” Josh said.

“She didn’t have good taste,” Laura snorted as she held up various necklaces made of string. “I might as well wear one, and get into character.”

“Don’t put that on,” Josh mumbled, uselessly, as she pushed the string over her head and a heavy metal charm slipped down between her breasts.

- End of Chapter 2 -

As per rules, I now nominate @riverflows to carry on with chapter 3. Here are the rules, for those of us that like to follow them (or intentionally break them):

Its simple, I will post a pic and start a story. Then I will tag a person to continue the story. After that person writes a new chapter it will nominate another person to continue the story. It will continue like that until we reach 10 chapters.
The nominated person have 7 days to come up with a new chapter for the story, if the nominated person don't write a new chapter then I will nominate another person. All the posts related to the story must have the hashtag #makeastory and tag me on them.
Also you have to add a pic or drawing related to your chapter of the story, if you don't have any you can use the one provided here. Once the ninth person writes the ninth chapter it have to nominate me to write the last chapter. In other words, I will write the first and the last chapter of the story.
The writers can do whatever they want with their part of the story. Whatever their imagination desires, there's no right or wrong in this story. The minimum word count its 100 words. The title must always say: "Let's Make A Story: Cabin In The Woods" and the number of the chapter ej: Let's Make A Story: Cabin In The Woods - Chapter 1. You can name the chapter if you want. And most important: HAVE FUN WHILE CREATING THE STORY!

Sort:  

Good work again from you. You have my resteem.

howdy again @ginnyannette..wow this really got me involved and then it stopped, rats! such a great story though, great job!

Look out for @riverflows in the next week and maybe she'll continue it for you :)

I'm not good at looking out for people, I can barely look out for myself. an you let me know if she continues it? I'll pay you a dust vote.

Ha! I love dust votes. I'll tag you in a comment.

lol! I love dust votes, I eat dust votes for breakfast said the rugged cowboy.

Congratulations @ginnyannette! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - France vs Belgium


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Can't wait to see what @riverflows write in chapter 3!

I have this sinking feeling something is going to happen to Laura...

Do you know me that well?? HAHAHA

Oh man! I'm intrigued.

Cue suspenseful music...

Oh goodness... just saw this because @blacklux tagged me... have a busy week ahead but will see what I can do...xx No promises... I am en route home then straight to work!

@ginnyannette awesome job.. didn't see original alert as you used a hashtag before my name!!! I'm.on it though but only coz it's You!!!

No worries, I leave it over to @blacklux to find a replacement if needed. You are a good writer, so I thought of you.

Shucks.. but I ain't got nothing on you!!!

Read the first chapter so you can see the whole story, just click the #makeastory tag. If you can't write the new chapter just tell me and I will find another person. You can write whatever you want and tag me in the post. Have fun!

Oh I'm.in... just surprised.. thinking aloud....

I just saw the second half of the comment. Lol. My brain doesn't put the #/@ symbol in proper place frequently! Aww, your the best.

And now I edited it, and had a good laugh :D

Hahaha... you're the best? He he - plus, Istuffed up with the makeastory hashtag (see permalink)and @sue-stevenson Iforgot the dash, so consider yourself tagged

I need to hire you as my editor. That blasted your-you're. In my defense, I frequently write at midnight when I can barely hold my eyes open :D

I am always horrified and defensive when corrected. I do know you know the diff.. just teasing 😁🤣

This is a fun little exercise. It reminds me of the projects creative writing profs came up with in college without the worry about getting a good grade.

Yes, these are good brain exercise. You are another great writer I know, if I do another one of these I'm tagging you :)

Oooh should I tag this person??

If you want to, absolutely. I'm curious what spin he will put it!

Hi there! Your vote popped up on my post today reminding me I had intended to come read a while. Been putting it off because I am so bad about getting wrapped up in the reading letting time escape me.
I was not wrong. This story just kind of pulls you right in. Now I want to follow the entire story.
I also think this is an awesome idea! Will be interested to see where the story goes.

Yes, I love this idea too! It is funny joining in, because they are sort of your characters, but then someone else takes them over. Fun. Thanks for stopping in :)

Oh this is definitely my pleasure. The reading is so relaxing here. I will be back to read more.
I got behind on everything when I had to be away from Steemit for a couple of weeks due to my FIL being sick. Now I have been playing catch up on a lot of things.
Probably good because there is plenty to read lol

Yes, I love to come back after a few days and play catch-up. I'm glad you are back.

@blacklux @ginnyannette its done but I'll post tomorrow as need to put a photo or two in and am about to go for tea. It was super fun and I hope it follows the threads okay. Xx

Wow that was fast! You are amazing.

Didnt want to let you down!!

Aww, you wouldn't have either way :)

@riverflows the suspense its killing me! Just give @ginnyannette and me a hint!! :D

Well... I'd keep an eye on where that chihuahua is...

Ha! That's an excellent hint.

You're quite the writer. I just saw chapter 3 pop up so I traced in back and have been catching up. I love this concept. Great chapter!!

I love this idea too. Maybe I will get the chance to do another one soon. Thanks for stopping by :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62931.02
ETH 3031.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64