Should I Break the Deal? I'm Just Not Good at Breaking ThingssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

This feels like a deal breaker sort of night. Should I break my deal? I don’t like breaking things—I’m a very gentle person.

Big Dog agrees. He was begging me for food, staring at me with his sad gold eyes as I sat here with a piece of toast. I offered it to him. I had an image of his big nostrils sucking the strawberry jam up into their caverns before suddenly putting on the breaks. Strawberry jam is a deal breaker, was written on his face.

2014-08-28 211337.jpg

Having to tolerate a puffball chicken during nap time? Deal breaker.

But he is a dog, what does he really know about breaking things? I’m so tired, why am I debating this? I could break this deal and spend the rest of the night eating snacks and wasting time. But…I’m a very indecisive person.

I shivered when I went outside to close up the chickens this evening. The naked branches of the Chinese elm hanging over the coop were bursting forth a bright green new wardrobe. It had been warm all throughout February. Now suddenly it is cold. Winter had agreed to hit the road in its deal with spring, but…tonight is the deal breaker.

The chickens didn’t lay a single egg. The cold weather was their deal breaker. Now those are some creatures that know how to be decisive. One second they are peaceful, the next they are trying to peck your toenail off. Those creatures know how to break things too. They’d recommend a deal breaking for sure.

The children are nestled all snug in their beds, while visions of leftover birthday cake danced in their heads. “If you don’t eat your green beans, you don’t get any cake,” I said at dinner time. There were phases to this green bean process.

20190217_222141.jpg

Cute little green bean hating hands.

The boy spent approximately ten minutes investigating the small pile of green beans on his plate. First, he eyeballed the green beans and their companions, the mushrooms, carefully. Next, he picked one up and rubbed it between his fingers for a proper tactile examination. Lastly, he took a tentative bite, smaller than a mouse nibble. His face contorted in a dramatic expression of disgust. Unfortunately, green beans in a balsamic vinegar sauce are a deal breaker.

The boy definitely knows how to break things, including deals. I respect that. Not enough to give him cake, but I respect it.

My husband came home after working several long shifts the last few days, and went straight to bed. He felt the deal breaking nature of tonight too—a lack of sleep is always a deal breaker.

DSC09954.jpg

A drawbridge...broken.

I’m breaking this deal. You can’t get blood from a stone; you can’t get words from a blank mind. Even Big Dog broke a deal tonight with that strawberry toast, and that dog is a garbage disposal. Clearly it is meant to be.

I am not writing tonight. Not at all. I am going to eat some snacks and sip some hot cocoa and listen to the dogs snore, and bask in my complete lack of effort. Decision made: Deal is Broken.

Wait a second…what are all these words doing here?

I’ve decided to write (or try to with my very limited free time) on this blog every day, as of March 1st until March 10th, in honor of my one year posting anniversary. Tonight I almost broke the deal, but so far, so good. We shall see what tomorrow brings.

Sort:  

Good afternoon ginnyannette, why can't deal breakers be easy peasy? They are tough to clinch in my house too. Right now the bulldog is talking - let me in but I am trying ignore it because first lot of food is in 2 hours, not now! Remember Marley bulldog!

Poor guy. Focus, Marley! Focus!

Compromise is best, I suppose. I'm currently typing this and eating snacks. Maybe toss Marley a snack too :)

Haha, done, she is happy!

I don't know how my doge would react to having a chicken being around, but probably not as calmly as yours :)

He will lie on his side in the grass and let them scratch him for bugs. I like to think they don't find any, but who knows :)

He is great until they peck him in the face, and then he gets snippy.

I try to post every day but some days just get the better of me. Good luck with your deal!

I know it, I've had quite a few of these sort of posts over the last year, where I just have no inspiration. I think powering through it is beneficial. I dropped down to writing every 48 hrs several months ago, but I like a good challenge now and then.

I don't like green beans either... can I get cake? :D

No! You have to eat all your green beans first. How do you ever expect to grow into a big girl unless you eat your vegetables?!

but I'm already a big girl!

Congratulations @ginnyannette! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 4000 replies. Your next target is to reach 4250 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

I like your post about almost deciding not to make a post. giggle

Yeah.... a deal is a deal..... until the deal breaker come's along.

I break deals all the time (with myself) when I decide I don't like the deal I made anymore. I'm so wishy washy sometimes.

What is it "they" say? Deals are made to be broken? :)

Hmmmm.... .maybe that was rules.....

I prefer your "deals" were made to be broken. It suits my purpose :)

So far so good again tonight! This deal just might stay intact...

The deal is still a deal..... today. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62971.67
ETH 3050.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.96