Weekend freewrite, this one trailed off to a strange nowhere land.

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

Spring rolled around and it occurred to me that I hadn't been home in two years.

A flickering of memories, held at bay. Spring is not the time for opening of flood gates. The least cautionary of seasons, it presents a certain risk t'wards sentimentality. To forget.

Home to define it now means to ponder on that which once was, and to think on such things is to chance coming unravelled.

The seasons come and go, they exist and roll along regardless. But to traverse the seasons one must stay abreast and contained.

I exist regardless too, will or withdrawal, when mixed with apathy is to exist.
Exist I do, entirely separate from the cycles which were once marked with such significance, but it is an existence nonetheless.
Though the length of a day or the weather outside my window, is of little consequence.

The thought of home too stirred naught but the briefest reflection.
Am I home? Is this the place? Is home where I came from? Where they moulded me? Or where I be?

What defines such a place?

Speculation serving only to reinforce the unimportance of the observance of seasons in reference to that of past ties.

A pondering, a reference, nothing more.

The thought fleets in less than a beat of my tired heart, and most assuredly, absent of any quickening or stir.
Not so much as pause, a flinch, a surge of emotion was to break through.

I hear it, the spring.

Most feel it's kiss upon their skin, in the warming and lengthening of days, smell it in the blooming of fresh buds.

I hear it's ceaseless murmurings.

If I let it, I hear it echoed in corners of my unguarded thoughts, in the stammering and stumbling. I scramble for yet another way in which to deny any such connection to the round and round and round and never ending chasing of yearnings and wishes and hopes unfulfilled. And the incessant COPING.

How I despise that word. Are you coping?
Can we not aspire to achieve more than such minimal accomplishments as to simply cope.

I hear it, deep it grumbles, a rolling, but not of the seasons.

Spring's drum roll announces the beginning of the masquerade, the charade in which the simple turning of our rock is sold as new and fresh and a celebration of life. Born again, to start a fresh with yet another chance at coping.
The cloaking begins, of similes to dress the springtime morning in a mascarade of glory, matched with the garments and the window dressings to reinforce the fictitious parade. Spring fairs and pastel flair, to sell the cope that's once again packaged in hope.

Just enough cope to have you come back next cycle, but not enough to fulfil all hope, because growth depends on, dependence.

IMG_20180207_073636.jpg


If I get into bed with you guys, I lose my clients.
A fine line drawn between the provision of satisfaction.

The business of springtime.

The crash diet sell, the body shaming that spring sells ahead of summer every year. Are you beach ready?
Are you too fat?
Too hairy?
Is your skin oily or saggy or wrinkly?
Do you have the right shade of tan?
The right bather brand?
What about your hair?
Is that a stray grey there?
Have you seen the latest...
Have you got the greatest?

Assault upon the senses. Upon my ears a trill alarmed. mine own voice I had thought, for although it was once most alien, over time the anthems become fact. Begin to sound from the depths of me. Absorbed by ritual of seasons. it surely came from me. After all, I may have once blamed those proximal.

But I am all alone and the cry I still hear.

It's been two years, but still,
I cannot soften the trill,
I'm still paying the bill,
Summoning the will,
Lacking courage to kill
Never feeling the fill
I've long cast off the frill
Still popping the pill
Still Steeming like krill
Precarious on the sill.


Far back in the tunnel down there,
where we were before

Two years you say since we've been back,
In truth we know it's more

Retrospection is no blessing,
What is it we would gain

Regret and agonising grief
A rehashing of pain

So spring you say is on the way
Should we set a goal

Would it help decide we're home
To once again feel whole

This tunnel is a one way trip
Not even a foot hold

It's not for faithless faint of heart
Helps too if you are bold.

Akin to seasonal cycles
Tunnels roll without choice

Above the shrill of spring time sell
I'm guided tward your voice.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

IMG_20170506_003403.jpg

Sort:  

Very insightful and emotional ride, @girlbeforethemirror.

Though the length of a day or the weather outside my window, is of little consequence.

We also find out, even if it sounds cliche, that we are of little consequence to the outside.
Home

past ties.
A pondering, a reference, nothing more.

That’s what I thought before I decided I could leave without one. I decided to never return to my hometown, the place I was born in, the house I grew up in, the people I grew up surrounded by. It’s been 3 or 4 years. I stopped counting. And yet, home haunts me. When I search for memories for explanations, for grounding, I see myself in that first sidewalk, those first games, those first friends and adventures, punishments and advices. The litany of street wisdom that was supposed to allow me to survive and become part of a community, either familial or social. Home for me has become more than I can remember, more than I can explain. It’s elusive, blurring, but constant and determining.

How I despise that word. Are you coping?

Coping has become out determining feature here. When we greet in the streets you either get a todo bien—pa’ no entrar en detalles (everything good, to avoid the details) or aguanta’o (holding), which suggests some sort of hanging, which suggests that sooner than later you’ll get tired and fall.
I’m also tired of coping and terrified at the possibility of remaining prisoner of its limiting inevitability.

Something else that seems inevitable/impossible to overcome is the catalogue of shames that have become so ubiquitous, among them

the body shaming that spring sells ahead of summer every year. Are you beach ready?

We have been consuming so much self-hate/conditioning/predisposition we have stopped living for ourselves and now live for others (el que dirán--what they would say).
I loved the –ill ending slamming rhythm you framed it in.

Retrospection is no blessing,

I could not agree more. It is our worst curse, I believe, even when retrospection brings up fond memories, they always come with a regretful longing. If only the energy or “good vibe” of those good memories could linger, if only they could mix the present chemistry and modify the current reactions. But they don’t. they only make us work harder on face- saving.

@hlezama,

As usual, brother ... brilliant.

Whenever I read your stuff, I find myself cognizant of a people "Holding their breath," desperately kicking to reach the surface. Surely, you must almost be there. And, if you can just hold your breath a little longer ... air. An explosion of life-giving air.

Excellent insights ... and Marg is as enamored by your commentary as am I.

BTW ... I'm running into more and more Venezuelans and I mention that I have a mate in-country. They all want to know: 1.) In which city do you live? 2.) You were a professor of which subject (and at which university)?

When I don't know the answer to something ... I've just been making it up.

"Henrry is the direct descendant, albeit an illegitimate one, of Simón José Antonio de la Santísima Trinidad Bolívar Palacios Ponte y Blanco and a brothel whore who, incidentally, was the maternal ancestor of Eva Peron."

I think, though, some are starting to catch on.

Quill

hahaha. Thanks for helping me fill in the blanks of my lineage.
I live in Cumaná and taught at UDO (Universidad de Oriente). In 21 years I ended up teaching almost every course in the whole program, but my are of specialization was American Literature. I also taught History and Composition (possible equivalent to Eng 101).

@girlbeforemirror,

Well @jaynie ... you wondered why I was so persistent about getting Marg into the Power House Creatives. Now you have your answer.

And this was a ... Freewrite.

Of course, I have been engaged with Marg via email for almost a year and so I have become privy to such ad libbing.

For those who don't know, Marg suffers from an extremely debilitating disease called EDS. It's as nasty as it gets. Ironically, a few short years ago, she ran seven marathons ... back-to-back.

I once wrote a Tribute Post to her, the only one I have ever written for anyone. This is a gal that leaves an impression:

https://steemit.com/poetry/@quillfire/girlbeforemirror-a-tribute-to-astonishing-talent-and-a-heart-that-is-gallant

Marg sometimes gets pissed off when I brag on her too much. Well, that's too bad for her, isn't it?

Marg, poetry is about an idea, ideal or insight ... and you have become its Philosopher Queen.

Whales, when I endlessly castigate everyone about the need to elevate Merit over Manipulation ... posts like this are the reason why.

@jaynie @zord189 @steeemitbloggers
@theycallmedan @nathanmars @mariusfebruary

Quill

Wow! This is some freewrite @girlbeforemirror! Love your take on coping ... such a vile word really, but sometimes, it's all we've got. Keep on fighting the fight regardless <3

I see @quillfire has announced your presence to many, including me :) Thanks for the heads-up Quill; and welcome to @powerhousecreatives!

@lynnecoyle1 & @girlbeforemirror,

Love your take on coping

Me too ... that's the part that hit me the hardest. I had never thought of "coping" in the way Marg expressed it and it struck me as being "profoundly true." There is a purity of metal that can only be obtained via the fires of a crucible and, I suspect, the same could be said of human beings.

Such hard-fought-for quintessence of humanity is, perhaps, why I'm so impressed with the two of you.

Quill

Such hard-fought-for quintessence of humanity is, perhaps, why I'm so impressed with the two of you.

Aww shucks. Thank you :)

That idea of "coping" has been the hardest for Brian, and I think that's why her thoughts really struck me. He's lived his life very well and hates not being able to do that now. It's all not right on so many levels.

In spite of his very confidant profile, I believe our mate @quillfire is a big softy. He crusades with an enormous heart.
I know that you know this about him too, as he toots your trumpet when you or your partner post as well.
Thank you for taking the time to comment here on my ramblings. I have followed your more recent posts (thanks to quill), and am glad to meet you here.
I wish to say something heartfelt to acknowledge what you are going through, but words can feel so inept at the times they are needed most.
Having this group of genuine people at your fingertips is a blessing. Steemit has been that for me, across many groups and borders. We here a lot about the things that are not working on steemit, but coin and politics aside, the communities are real, more real sometimes for people like me who don't get out and about much.
I am grateful to you Paul, for your encouragement and friendship, and to @lynncoyle1 and all of phc peeps and the many steemians who have for almost 3 yrs bolstered me.

It was really my pleasure reading this @girlbeforemirror :)

In spite of his very confidant profile, I believe our mate @quillfire is a big softy. He crusades with an enormous heart.

Agreed. He does put on a good show though, doesn't he?! :)

I appreciate your sentiments regarding Brian and myself. Words, as beautiful as they are, can seem so inadequate sometimes. We are managing (I won't say "coping" :) fairly well, all things considered. I feel very thankful for having found him in the first place; I'm sometimes angry that it will be so short lived, but overall, I appreciate that we've found something that many others never do.

PHC is a wonderful community to be a part of. They're real peeps for sure :)

@girlbeforemirror & @lynncoyle1

I believe our mate @quillfire is a big softy.

Not true. He is as hard as nails.

I'm glad you guys have met. My instincts tell me you'd make good friends.

Quill

Must you chime in on everything ? :)

Just saying HELLO to you, i hope you are doing well ! :-)
hello.jpg

@girlbeforemirror

You have your greatest advocate to thank for my visit. I thank him, too. Amazing is too banal a word to describe what I have just read. I need to read it again.

Thank you @quillfire

Be well (as you can), Marge

Posted using Partiko Android

@fionasfavourites,

When I read Marg's musings, I frequently sense ... "literary greatness." She doesn't like it when I get all rapturous, preferring to be more circumspect and self-effacing. Indeed ... she still questions her talents. What can I say? She's wrong and I'm right. And, while she may be unequaled is perseverance, it is unlikely she exceeds me in persistence. And so ... I shall persist. I want a Magnum Opus.

Quill

I shall watch this battle with great interest. Not taking sides. #justsaying

Posted using Partiko Android

@fionasfavourites,

A pretty tepid battle. She knows she's got the goods and she knows I'll nag her forever. :-)

Quill

🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks to @quillfire for enlightening me on your writing talents. I was engrossed by everything in here. Not just the emotions I was feeling about societal attitudes you brought up with your wonderful words but the varying manner in which you did it with.

I hope you can bring us a few more gems like this :)

@nickyhavey,

Nicky ... Marg does this stuff all the time in her emails.

Not just the emotions I was feeling about societal attitudes you brought up...

There is something about the simplicity and rawness of her insights and the manner in which she articulates them. It has ... "stopping power."

Quill

Agree with all of that Quill! She's got a talent, I was sad to read about her illness in the #powerhousecreatives discord but she's a trooper by the sounds of it and that's admirable.

Thank you! Beautiful!

How did i miss this one.

"it is an existence nonetheless."

You have more power than you think you do.

🙌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63161.84
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97