Meet The Writers' Block

in #writing7 years ago

TheWritersBlock.jpg

What is The Writers' Block?

 
We began life as the fiction workshop at PALnet, the Discord server for the Minnow Support Project. We spread our wings and started our own Discord server, integrating poetry, non-fiction, playwright and technical workshops soon after. We also have an English language channel to assist non native English writers with grammar, spelling and punctuation.

What do we do?

 
The Writers' Block can help writers of all these disciplines polish their work. We assist new writers get to grips with grammar, punctuation, story mechanics, formatting etc. For example, the fiction workshop has several experienced editors such as @rhondak, @carolkean, @tinypaleokitchen, @anarcho-andrei, @thinknzombie and @bex-dk. They are all too willing to help knock works of fiction into shape and smooth out those rough edges. In the poetry workshop you can work on your poetry, getting feedback and suggestions from @geke and @sunravelme. The other workshops offer much of the same help.

Once a week we have a Fictioneers radio show, broadcast on Twitch, featuring discussion of all things fiction. Starting this week we have @anarcho-andrei's State Of The Witness show and tonight the Shane and Muxxy Show returns from this, our new home.

Why join us?

 
Firstly, either to improve your writing or to share your skills with our community. We have brainstorming sessions which help to grow ideas for stories or maybe to take your work into a direction you may not have considered. Edited and workshopped work stands a better chance of higher rewards, or of getting recognised by curation teams. I run my @Muxxybot curation account from this server, there are several of @acidyo's OCD curators on board and we have regular visits from a few of @Curie's curators, all looking for great posts to curate.

How do I join?

 
Click HERE to join our general channel. This is a place to introduce yourself, tell us about your writing or what you would like to learn. Also it is a great place to get to know the rest of us in a relaxed and jovial atmosphere. All new users start as an honorary member and they will have access to all the workshops. Honorary members however are not allowed to post links in our post link channels: to assist curators we try to keep a check on the content of these channels. As honorary members get more involved with the community they will be promoted to full members with posting privileges.

We look forward to meeting you at the block.


Original image source

Sort:  

Nice overview post of a great group of folks. Some excellent writers on the writers block, and I've been writing a lot more lately as a result of being in the company of other writers. It's nice to share the struggle with like-minded people.

You and your sense of humour have assimilated well into our hive mind. Always fun to be had when you're around.

HaHa! I JUST WATCHED one episode Star Trek and have still Seven of Nines voice in my head: "Irrelevant":)))

Glad to have you on board dude.

You are one of those "excellent writers," too. Don't be modest! :-)

This is what makes the writers block great!

Thank you @gmuxx for the amazing introduction to our lovely family. And thank you for all that you continue to do for us. Know that we love you all the more for it. This community is amazing and a lot of that is thanks to you. Hug

It wouldn't be what it is without people like you.

<3

Don't forget asshat! :-D

Oh yes, it wouldn't be the same without asshat =D

An amazing group of people :)

I'm glad I'm part of this community... I'm glad I knew you since the PAL days... And I'm glad I submitted few of my works to you.

It's great to have you with us.

Happy to be one of your @Muxxybot Curators! Thanks for the opportunity @Gmuxx!

Happy to have you on board.

Sounds like a place I need to be. click

Yes. Definitely with a capital D!!!

Later tonight, when the hubby goes to bed, I come make a mess in the chat. You just wait!!!

Here I am! Discording and all!

claps hands and goes girly squealing happy dance

i did one of those today!

This is where I started and I'm so proud to be a member of #TheWritersBlock! I met so many people here plenty of talented people (many to mention) plenty of hot girls what else should I say I love em all.

We very much enjoy having you with us.

This post has received a 3.68 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @unprovoked.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 19.28 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @gmuxx. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

I appreciate your work and thanks for sharing it ! I'm fully interested in and I'm on it now to read!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71