A Song For Ally (Part 3 of 6)

in #writing6 years ago

A Song For Ally (Part 3 of 6)

In the last episode: During the next six days my mind kept returning to the back row of tables at the Sunset Cabaret. Ally came walking into my thoughts first thing in the morning and stayed long after I turned out the lights at night. No woman ever had that effect on me before. It seemed, however, my only hope of seeing Ally again now rested with Joanie and how badly she wanted my autograph.

When Saturday finally got there, Joanie proved to be as good as her word. She and her four friends, including Ally, joined the audience around nine. We were just about to do Be Who You Are, and I got an idea. The microphone I use is wireless, which means it works pretty much all over the room without a cord.

Kevin and Donny kicked the intro off on keyboard and drums. When the rest of us jumped in, I watched Ally. She did the same thing as the week before, she looked up and watched me intently. This time I did more than look back.

Stepping down from the stage, I sang my way through the audience until I arrived at Ally's table, where I sang the song directly to her. I could see Joanie grinning from the corner of my eye. Ally, on the other hand looked horrified and her eyes got so full of tears they began rolling down both cheeks. Despite her emotional state, Ally was still absolutely gorgeous.

By the time we ended the song, she was covering her face with her hands, except for her eyes. They were still locked to mine. The audience applauded and I bowed slightly to Ally, whereupon she jumped up and ran out of the room. I thought, "Good work, Jimmy. Keep it up and she won't let you within ten miles of her."

Acknowledging the crowd and feeling a very dark shade of miserable, I walked back to the stage. When I turned around, Ally's friends were gone. About halfway through the last set of the night, though, Joanie returned by herself. By the time we loaded our gear in the van, the club was empty . . . except for Joanie.

I walked over to her table and flopped into a chair. "I guess I pretty much blew that one all to hell."

Joanie smiled at me. She seemed to smile a lot. "Well, yes, but it wasn't entirely your fault. There are some things about Ally you don't know. I suppose I should have told you more when I realized you were interested in her, but some of it is kind of personal and I don't like to tell other people's secrets unless there is an important reason."

I nodded. "I understand. She's your friend and her secrets are none of my business."

She touched my arm. "Mister Bishop, . . . ."

"Please call me Jimmy."

"Okay, Jimmy. I think maybe some of Ally's secrets are kind of your business. You would never know it by her behavior, but I'm pretty sure Ally thinks you are a very special guy."

I almost laughed. "No way. That's just fan stuff. She loves our music and the idea of me being kind of a rock star, although I'm really not."

Joanie looked me straight in the eye. "You're wrong, Jimmy, very wrong."

"She ran out of the room in tears, for crying out loud!"

"Yes, she did, but you don't know why. I do. Will you listen to me for a few minutes?"

I nodded. "Sure."

To Be Continued
Copyright 2018 Steven O. Eitzen
All Rights Reserved

This story is a work of fiction. Names, characters, locations, and incidents are the product of the author's imagination or are used fictitiously. Any resemblance to actual events, locales, or persons, living or dead, is coincidental.

Story and design © Steve Eitzen
Header graphic & HPO logo © HPO Productions
Original art © HPO Productions
Character images © 123RF Used by license

Sort:  

You got a plankton sized upvote from @worksinsane because your post appeared in the We Curate quality post search tool. It is a web art thingy thing that searches posts which fulfill predetermined rules. Upvoting isn't automated, @worksinsane reads posts before upvoting.

For more information read the latest post.

Thank you . . . I think. ;-)

Ha! Every little hundredth of a sent (or somewhere around there) counts. :D

Methinks the Lady doth protest too much :) Women are like weather - unpredictable. Now men, are very predictable...and dumb, lol

True, but I get the idea Joanie sincerely wants to help her friend. Whether she's going about it the right way might be another matter. But what do I know, I'm only the author.

Okay, to suit it to our times: Ally is his long-lost transgender brother...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63645.37
ETH 3067.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81