Harvard Economics & Pioneer Ranching : A Meeting of Minds

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

titans1.jpg

Yesterday was a pretty fulfilling day for me. I got to introduce two of my heroes to one another. Ralph - a Harvard economics professor who decided to become an MLA after the sudden passing of his wife in 1999. Ken - a pioneer rancher from my hometown who commands the respect of man and beast alike.

I have had the privilege of working with MLA Ralph Sultan for the past few months. I admire him for his integrity and sharp wit. Currently the BC Legislature is reviewing bills around the legalization of cannabis. Ralph was asked to speak to these bills...

"I’m glad to contribute my meager knowledge on the subject of cannabis to this erudite debate. I will confess up front that my knowledge of cannabis and motor vehicles relates to a Cheech and Chong movie I saw about 30 years ago, as a van which seemed to be fabricated from marijuana plants was driving across the border between Mexico and California and somehow caught on fire, which, in turn, caused the entire border guard staff to become, shall we say, impacted.

Anyways, it was a great flick. But that was the extent of my sophisticated knowledge on the subject on which I’m asked now to pass laws which will perhaps result in criminal records, which will create great complications for our citizens. So I would caution that we should tread lightly before we put the fate of the records of so many citizens in the hands of somebody whose knowledge is limited to Cheech and Chong."
-MLA Ralph Sultan, May 8th 2018, Bill 30, Hansard Services


Ken Fawcett is a Pioneer Rancher from my hometown. He went to school with my Dad - although Ken didn't spend much time in school. In Grade 5 Ken chose to stay home from school and help on the family farm. Although he never finished school he has been a driving force in the BC ranching scene for over 5 decades. Over the years the Fawcett family has helped the community in countless ways. At Christmas time they take families on horse drawn sleigh rides - just for the joy of sharing their passion and way of life. On every ride people always offer tokens of appreciation - all of which end up back in the givers hands. Ken's family boasts a strength of character enviable by most. When I think of how to describe the Fawcett family, the phrase Some as good but none better comes to mind.


titans2.jpg

Both of these men inspire me. They both come from polar opposite backgrounds, yet have similar values of integrity and decency. Yesterday I was able to introduce them to one another while the BC Cattleman were visiting the Legislature.

Ralph and Ken talked for half an hour or so, and seemed to get on like two peas in a pod. Ralph asked about the economics of farming, and Kenny was more than happy to share his extensive wisdom and experience - over 50 years of it. As Ralph and I walked back into the building, Ralph commented on how refreshing it was to talk to someone who wasn't obsessed with tech, cannabis or political mumbo jumbo. I couldn't help but think that between their two minds, Ralph and Ken might just have reasonable solutions to many of the issues present at the BC Legislature today.

All content is my own unless otherwise stated.
Thanks for the support Steemians!

Sort:  

Hello hayles!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Great post. It doesn't seem like you are getting the likes it deserves though. Have you checked out the upvote communities? You should check out steemengine. or steemfollower.com.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Nice post. Doesn't look like you are getting the votes you deserve though. You should check out steemengine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62931.02
ETH 3031.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64