Locked Out.

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Every morning I get my littles up, dressed and out the door in time to catch the school bus.

The dogs and I accompany them down so we can say our goodbyes and give hugs and kisses and we wave as they drive off.

Today is picture day. So we ran around like crazy people making everyone look juuuust right for the pictures you have to pay for before you even see.

Inari almost forgot his key, but we got him situated and ran out the door.

Got this picture before they got on the bus. #proudmama

20181002_160807.png

I wave goodbye, take the dogs for their quick walk around the block, get back home and... The door is locked.

Inari locked the door behind us. My keys, my bus pass my moneys I could potentially use to pay a cab, my toothbrush I had yet to use...

All in the house. I had my phone, and my dogs.

So we sat on the porch step and I had one of those "Well, what the fuck do I do now?" moments.

I called two friends, text a coworker and called work, looking for a ride to the school. A ride that does not mind having two 50+ pound dogs in their car.

It's early. Like, 7:30 in the morning early. Nobody answered the phone. So we sit on the porch all rejected and sad for a while, contemplating poor life decisions, like giving the 9-year-old a key, hahaha!

And then I decide, time to walk to the school. I took the dogs (couldn't leave them behind!) And started walking. We live one and a half blocks from the bottom of "the hill". The school is at the top.

And when I say "hill" I mean we live on the side if a small mountain.

20181002_161726.png

I decided to cut through Lincoln Park as opposed to walking around it and taking more time. So at least the first part of our walk was pleasant.

Made a quick stop along the way. #Hiro is such a handsome member of the #dogsofsteemit how could I resist?!

20181002_162017.png

We left the trails and were still less than halfway up "The Hill". I'm sorry, my phone is not the greatest since dropping it. But, #LakeSuperior is down there, and I was able to see over to Wisconsin. Hello land of cheese!

20181002_162036.png

So we keep walking, and walking walking. I'm hobbling and sweating, pretty sure I have a personal funk going on since I don't even have deoderant on yet. 🖓😅

We get to the school and I don't even try to hide the mess that is me. It's a 1.92 mile hike up a massive hill to get there. It isn't pretty. I stroll in with the dogs and like a train wreck, people just stare.

I explain my purpose, my boy is brought down, key handed over, extra hugs given and now I face the walk back down.

But lo! A friend responds! Rescue is at hand! We get a ride home, Ella begging for attention like the love-deprived doggy she is the entire way.

20181002_162102.png

Inari wanted the skull key. I demanded mon-key just so I could someday use this lame pun.

I was 3 hours late for work today, but I still made it, gosh darn it!

And that, concludes today's crazy adventures in the life of Hickory. A bit anti-climatic? Maybe. This is a judgdment free zone dang it!

Lmao!

Love to you!

Sort:  

We replaced the key lock with a code lock.

Prior to that I would always have a spare key at some secret location.

I'm a real mess when it comes to forgetting keys and locking myself out. The same with my eldest son.

Ohhhh, being locked out sucks so much! You definitely got your exercise in today!

One of those crazy days.

Hello @hickorymack, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22