Treating Steemit Like Facebook.

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

With the massive move to censor hundreds of accounts on Facebook that clap back at big media, I can't help but feel like I've got to stop supporting them.

So, now what?

I post here on average a few days a week. I post on Facebook several times a day. It's quick, it's easy, I don't have to focus on an article length #blog on #facistbook.

I can just talk with people there. I have dozens of people I interact there with regularly.

So, I envision a shift.

All those little things I would normally post on Facebook, I will begin posting here, even if it seems weird at first.

20181013_104632.png
something I would normally post on Facebook

Who made up the rule that says we can't just post a picture with a short, silly story about what the kid or cat just did?

@phoenixwren, let's flood the place with #yuan and #albus!

Let's leave #facebook to it's crumbling and completely move to #Steemit!

Sort:  

HPIM6259.JPG
Yuan abides. ^_^

I wholly support this initiative! The only thing missing on STEEM is our precious conversations with our friends/fam. Once they are here, and we are all using this place like our old home, it's gonna be SOOOOOOO GREAT!!!!!!!!!!

Thank you for taking this giant leap Hickory! I'm very proud of all you have accomplished in your time here!!

Go for it i say as you are free to post what ever you like here. And the more posts and comments should help with the value of steem overtime :)

Hello @hickorymack hope you are doing fine!
Im at peace with myself too! =)
(just saying)...

/FF

Nice!

😂😂😂

Glad to hear you are well!

Im okay, hanging in there...
=)

And you, did you get the housing situation together?

/FF

Yesssssssss!!!!!

The reason is because upvotes here are not trivial.

Also, we tend... don't really have friends, we have readers here.

It would be helpful to have a distinction between wall-stuff and blog-stuff. But really, the only way that would be useful is if it were automatic. So.. i don't know.

I tend to not post short things on f-c-book, well back when i posted things on f-c-book. So, steemit has worked out well for me.

I guess the best way to describe my reasoning has to do with numbers.

I have fewer friends on Facebook than followers here.

Of those friends, facebook algorythms allow me to see maybe 40 people on the regular.

I am following over 80 people here on Steemit, all of which show up on my feed.

With only about 40 people in my feed on Facebook, I have constantly changing things to see. They are always sharing, posting, joking, having fun with each other.

Here, with over 80 people, it can be several minutes before something new shows up. Everyone is so worried about word count, we don't hear from them as often.

Post a funny story about your cat, I'm still going to upvote you because I love your cat, too.

If a specific friend on Facebook were to join Steemit and post about her dog, which I practically cyber stalk because of her ridiculous cuteness, she would get my vote, every single time.

I guess it's about giving a choice. We can moderate the amount we upvote or simply choose not to upvote at all based on what we feel is worth it.

To me, more interaction with people, is worth it.

I can definitely see your point.
It is nice to have that interaction... but i never really got it... so can't really say.

I wonder if i could write an algorithm.
Basically, the easiest would be word count greater than 50.

... what i want on steemit is a lot more selecting and searching abilities.

Like, i want all the long thought out post that are new. (it is too much to go through the new tab today) Or i want all of my favorite tags. Or i want all my friend group of people. Or i want all my 'following' group of people's posts, etc.

Well, set up an account for that puppy then post all the pictures. Then upvote, and get us all to upvote, and then tell the owner how much crytpo the puppy made.... and then they will all be over here.

PS I hate that f-c-book decides to limit the posts i see from my friends (and what they see of mine). I literally went to certain people's walls each day, because it was so bad.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79