My Creative Writer's Morning

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Great day Steemians, so I had a pretty creative morning this morning :) as I am preparing to start my new book I thought it would be only right to do some creative exercises to get the creative cogs flowing again. My last 3 books were non-fiction which is a totally different method and style of writing from my day's a few years back writing scandal and thriller novels. Allas my creative itch has been itching so yes I am about to dip into the fiction pool again.

Just like any other skill, as a writer, it is important to continue to sharpen your craft. So you can imagine my excitement the other morning when I stumbled across these two on my lower bookshelf. My Master Lists for Writers & 712 More Things To Write About

JPEG image 4.jpeg

Have you ever been deep in the flow of your writing and it's getting juicy but you just can't quite seem to find the right word you are looking for? Or correct context for the scene? Or unique ways to describe someone's annoying character traits? Yep, well that's where the Master Lists for Writers comes in! Whatever you need, you name it, it's in there it's literally like the writer's Bible. It's filled with so much valuable info and random short sharp methods and descriptions to quickly get you out your writer's block and back to thinking out the box.

But onto the fun stuff!

I received 712 More Things To Write About a while back as a gift one Christmas. It's one of the most unusual yet hilarious books that I have ever received.

JPEG image 10.jpeg

It's literally a blank book filled with yep you guessed it 712 random things to write about. Pages, upon pages of one sentenced story prompts, scenarios, and cliffhangers that you have to complete to get you writing.

I believe it's the second book in it's series and the first one was 642 Things to Write About, hence the second book being 712 More Things To Write About but anywhoo! When I tell you this book will ask you to writeTHE MOST ramdomist' (wait, is that a word?) of things ever! It will totally have you from one page to the next like:


So how random are these things?

The things inside to write about are as random as:

I met him on the stairs......

(and that's it! You'd have to continue writing the scene)

or Write a letter to a loved one that's passed away that has been given 5 additional minutes to read a letter from you .... (yep total tear jerker)

Write a poem about pizza

You propose to the love of your life and they say no, they are in love with your sister/brother .... write the scene

Describe how to cut an apple

You fall asleep on the couch and wake up in the desert tied up... (I mean, come on now!)

So you get my point of how random this book is (by the way the following were real suggestions from the book)

On to my creative morning

So! This week I set myself the task to complete 3 challenges from the book each morning. I thought it would be great as a brain yawn each day to give my creative cogs their morning yoga stretch. I would spontaneously select, open the book to a random page and then choose a prompt. I thought it might be fun to share with you so here are two of the prompts I completed this morning

Random thing to write about:

Your cat (or dog) has a twitter feed. What are its first three tweets?

My Answer:

  • Help! I've been abducted by these people that keep calling me kitty
  • Mic check, is this thing on? Someone let Tabby & Tom know I'm by Upper East Side.. COME GET ME
  • Hmmm it's not so bad, they have food and a luxury Casper mattress.
 

Random thing to write about 2:

Develop an obsession: hoarding, shopping, counting parking meters etc. Now write about it in a way that makes it seem pleasurable.

My Answer:

It's almost that time again. You know, that time of the day that I retrieve my three step-ladder, line up my assortment of polishes, labels facing outside of course. Select the finest cloth for the task. Not too fluffy, not too coarse. I roll the material between my forefinger and thumb as I select the finest for the job. Perrrfect. My finger gently taps each polish lid one by one. I stop at the third. Glass polish, yep, perfect. I ascend the step ladder and take off the first prism of the 4 ft chandelier as I begin my daily polish.

That's all darlings!

Thank you for reading and hope your all having an amazing day! X

Steemit @HolisticDarling

My other homes on the internet come and say hey!

Love to read? Why not try one of my books - Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Sort:  

You've provided a wealth of information that will be useful to both novices and seasoned professionals in writing field. I appreciate you sharing your expertise. In addition, I just wrote a piece https://ipsnews.net/business/2021/12/02/5-best-college-paper-writing-services-to-hire-an-essay-writer-from/ on writing services that students would find really useful, which you can see here. You should read this article since it goes into great length on the difficulties of working with such providers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69450.75
ETH 3678.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81