5 Tips for Combating Writer’s Block

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

5 tips to help you prepare for and break out of writer’s block.

filmmaker-2838945_1280.jpg

Tips for Combating Writer's Block

It can strike any time you're looking at a blank screen or piece of paper:

Writer's block.

It's a hopeless feeling when words and ideas disappear as if they were never there. While many on the Internet will say writer's block doesn't exist, the truth is it does happen. But you can't let it be an excuse for not writing (which is what the deniers say it is). Fortunately, there are ways to prepare for it, and techniques to use to get out of it.

Prepare for it


One of the best remedies for writer's block is to never let it get hold of you in the first place. Or at least if it does, the moment is fleeting because you've put some practices in place to prevent it from stopping you. The ideas below are easy to do and don't take much time.

Keep a list of topics and ideas

Inspiration hits at the most inconvenient times: in the shower, at the grocery store, while driving or in the middle of the night in a dream. Don't let all those good ideas slip away!

Keep a notebook, or use an app on your phone, to record the ideas when they come. If you can't write it down right away, do it as soon as possible. If you're using your phone, you can even try to use Siri, or the equivalent on your device, to make a voice recording of your ideas. When I'm in the car I say "Hey Siri," then she asks what I want. I'll say something like "take a note" then tell her what to put into the note or reminder.

How ever you record your ideas, keep them handy. Next time you can't think of anything to blog about on Steemit, pull out the list and start writing.

Feed your soul

In Julia Cameron's The Artists Way, she suggests many different ways to help fuel creativity. One of my favorite suggestions is to go on an Artist's Date. Don't worry, you don't need to find a date. In fact, it's required you "go" on this date alone.

She suggests that once a week you participate in a creative activity outside your usual practice. That means if you're a writer, do something creative that isn't writing. You can paint, draw, sing, build a birdhouse, or dance. Don't stress about not knowing how to do that activity. Here's how The Artist's Way website puts it:

The Artist Date need not be overtly “artistic” — think mischief more than mastery.

Mischief. Sounds fun, doesn't it?

Create the habit

Have you ever tried to break a habit? It's a hard thing to do because most of us are creatures of habit. Thankfully creating a new habit isn't as hard as quitting. It only takes a little planning and time.

When it comes to your writing, plan out what you want to do:

  • Where will you write?
  • When will you write?
  • How will you write?
  • What do you need to write?

For example, I usually write at night after everyone has gone to sleep. I sit at my computer with the room lights off. I have a glass of water and my phone I use to play music that helps me focus. It's at these times I do my most productive writing. Setting up these conditions triggers my brain and body to know now is the time I write - and I just do it. I rarely have any trouble getting words out unless there are unusual circumstances that day.

Think about a routine, ritual or habit - whatever you want to call it - that you can put in place to train yourself into the habit of writing. It might take some finagling, but you'll find a combination that works.

Work your way out of it


When all your preparation fails, and you find you're still staring at a blank page, don't give up! Here are a couple of ideas to help you get the words flowing again.

Use prompts

Writer's prompts are little snippets designed to get you thinking and writing. They might be just one word or a phrase. They can be completely crazy, or simple and reflective. For example:

  • What is your favorite memory from before the age of 12?
  • Write about your favorite food and the first time you ever ate it.
  • A purple and white panda bear snuck up on the blue and white tiger...(finish the story)
  • Party (the one-word prompt to the Day 200 freewrite run by @mariannewest here on Steemit)

You read a prompt and just start writing about it. This takes the pressure off because you don't have to come up with the idea. You simply follow the directions for the prompt. You can find zillions of prompts online by googling "writing prompts”.

Use discipline to write through it

So you have a blank page? All you have to do is fill it up. Really, I mean that literally. It doesn't matter what you put on the page, just start filling it.

Even if you're not inspired, or motivated, you're still having thoughts right? Write those down. Start writing your thoughts as fast as you can type them and don't stop. Whatever you're thinking, just put it down. Even if you're repeating "I don't know what to write. I don't know what to write," over and over, keep doing it. Eventually, you'll get to "This is really stupid. I know what to write. I want to write about..."

And you're there. Or at least you'll be somewhere. The persistence of writing like this eventually opens the floodgates to your creativity whether you realize it or not. It might not be where you wanted your writing to go, but you'll be going somewhere.

One thing the Internet is right about: writer's block doesn't have to exist. Use the tips above, and you'll always be able to keep writing.

How do you deal with writer's block? Please share in the comments so we can all learn from each other.

NtOwl-thumbnail.png @ntowl , The Night Owl Writer

“We have loved the stars too fondly to be afraid of the night.” - the old astronomer

Sort:  

I have just started writing and your tips are very helpful. Sometimes I wait until it's too perfect in my head before I start writing. I should just write more often.

or one can simply become a ulogger and create ulogs. #ulog got 2029 posts and more than 6k comments in the first 6 days

Really a good tip for getting started with blogging

Very interesting! thanks for sharing! by the way, great cover photo for this article!

I've found doing content gap analysis effective.

You could use keyword research tools to scan competitors and find topic clusters you'd like exploring. Or, simply going through archives/start here pages/popular posts for general ideas.

I usually let those ideas 'mature' for a while before swinging back around since the time between I'd likely explore the topics.

I love this idea!

I agree that's a really good technique too. You'd never run out of topics that way as long as you keep up the research.

I always envision my ideas "percolating" rather than maturing. But that just shows how old I am!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Hi! @hyperfundit excellent post i like your post and just resteemed your nice post @fastpromoter new on steem.

A simple but easy suggestion at the heart of a problem that is often experienced by a writer. I myself am very difficult to write because of my work, but as much as possible I write, even if only a poem.

Favorite food ....pizza and I know the first time I eat it. Good idea .lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87