Thoughts of an Enviromentalist.

in #writing6 years ago

images (9).jpeg

source

So there she went, so beautifully and wonderfully walking my way; her gait as that of a catwalk, refined with confidence and gracefulness. We had been friends on one of these social media platforms for long seven-day’d week, online. I think it was basically about pushing the screen on the “add friend” column of a fine girl’s photo, which as usual was rudely and vividly suggested to me by Mark Zuckerberg. A couple of meaningful chats, some “lols” and ofcourse 30mins snubbing, there she went; an angel for all to behold as she approached. As the nice guy that I am, I set my expectations low; if she is female human, we are good to go. You can never trust the picture you have painted of someone in her absence. Mostly, when the mental image of the lady, as the only raw material, is from social media. My dear, think twice, everybody is rich online. And on the other hand, I am not flawless, I mean, nobody is perfect.

Right in front of me, was this beautiful maiden of butterflies and jewelled crowns, a chimera. My soul danced desultorily in joy. My happy but angry heart pounded my chest twerking or punching the ribcage in anger-catharsis. It was angry at my brain for not thinking about love-search online sooner. Everything is on online this days. Hollywood propaganda of meeting your soulmate in “the university” had fed me with fried rice and I tasted garri. But none of that matters anymore. She gave me that welcoming and comely smile. That “come-my-dear-rest-awaits” smile. The landscape of Benin blurred and the only thing I could focus was her smiling face. The phone caressed her succulent cheek as she smeared a grin on that celestial facial image of hers. A gesture comprising of a little shyness, a lot of confidence, a little cluelessness (like myself), a little cuteness, a little lioness, a little of so many nice things that are countless. “Her complexity will so match my inquisitiveness” I thought. Near my mind, my heart crawled into my stomach and straddled on my small intestine, swinging tautly. When she became close, I dropped my hand from my ears, not only to drop a phone call, but to give the angel before me a better first posture-impression. Her refusal to drop her hand assured me of her fascination of this angelic male earthling and forgot her composure. For me, it was time to meet the goddess. To continue the ‘hello/hi’-started conversation in person. I felt like biblical Mary; out of all the “young and rich” young men on facebook, God preserved this jewel for me, the chosen one.

“I should say ‘hello’ first. No, ‘hi’ is more euphony.” Let just say I was sure she is the one, until she passed me; talking to some other guy on the phone. I know. I know it was another big-headed guy. Mtcheeew, I mean who gives a stranger the welcoming and comely smile.
Anyway, I hope you felt my disappointment and embarrassment. And the authenticity and reality of this story cannot be guaranteed. Hope you understand the fact that environmentalist’s thoughts involve other aspects of life and not just the green. Nevertheless, Living Green is the Goal. Stay Green.

#TheThoughtsOfAnEnvironmentlist

Sort:  

Congratulations @ighayin! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61095.28
ETH 2922.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65