IM YOUNG BUT IM NOT TIMID

in #writing6 years ago

Let's do this together people.

So, I'm coming back to this space with a campaign and I'll be needing all of you for this.

I have never been interested in the affairs of my country as I have been in recent years. This is because my eyes have been opened to see a lot of things beyond the news and noise.

We just see figures in the news- 86 killed in Plateau, 200 die in Ibadan, 150 dead 76 injured in Borno etc. These are humans. These are humans like you and I wasted just like that! Just like that! Sometimes, these numbers are doctored. The government would influence the news and cut down the number. But even if it's one person, one life is worth the whole fight. I live in a country where numbers of deaths are normal for us now. Numbers decorate the screen of our television sets now and we shrug our shoulders and change the channel...just another set of numbers. We have been robbed of the human sympathy in us. We no longer feel anything for those displaced as a result of this crises. But do I blame us? Everyone is struggling to survive. The government is busy pulling up stunts every now and then. The mass burial of those killed in the last Borno crises was not attended by any representative of the Federal government. Not even one! But they turnup in party rallies and 'rest' abroad now and then.

I got to watch channel's Database line (I don't know if I got the name) and I saw persons in IDP camp Kuchingoro and all they are passing through. A lady was complaining about infections from the bad toilets and flies and diseases. Humans like you and me! Those ones have been forgotten by the government.

They are also young people. They have no life, no phones, no access to instagram like you, no facebook profile. They can't snapchat like you. They can't go to school like you.

Young people, this is the time to rise up and speak. No more political apathy. We need to talk! We need to get involved. Let's join our voices together and shout aloud the Nigeria we want to see. We die here o.

To this end,I'm organising a 10-day campaign. I'm in search of 10 persons who are willing to make noise. I'll give details on this campaign in my next post.

#YoungNotTimid is the hashtag
YOUNGEE.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70018.15
ETH 3794.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75