You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thoughts on a writer's vocabulary contest - 5 SBI shares to one winner

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

rivulets, gumption, regale.

It's hard to know which of the words in my vocabulary are uncommon, but I'm reading through the story I'm writing for the Steem Fiction Writer anthology organized by @jeezzle, and I thought those three stuck out, at least as not everyday words.

Rivulets, of course, to talk about streams of water that are the width and depth of a single droplet (maybe more than a few droplets, but not as many as you'd find even in a babbling brook)
Gumption, of course, to talk about that sticktoitiveness that comes from stubbornness disguised as courage.
And to regale, or to tell a story with a performative element. Not to act out the story, but to weave the story with such gusto and detail that the audience is swept up in it. Also, because this word looks like "regal", when I use it, I think that the audience is treated to a story that is worth of royalty.

My examples, from the story:

The dark green Kool-Aid dye ran in rivulets down her UCLA sweatshirt.
When she reached the edge of the bridge where he’d been pulled over, though, her gumption failed her.
"I will guide you to your bedchamber and regale you with fascinating stories about my past love life."

Sort:  

Love the word choices. Particularly 'regale'. I feel sorry for whomever is the target of that last sentence...if I'm going to be regaled in a bedchamber, I don't want it to be about the past love lives of the person I'm with. Talk about killing the mood!

Well... it's her mom...

Posted using Partiko Android

Ummm...that seems so much worse! Some sort of bedtime story! I'm sure it makes sense in context of the story, but just that one sentence leads to lots of awkwardness.

You'll have to read the story, I guess. ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63885.30
ETH 3142.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86