You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Exquisite Corpse: Get Off My Farm, Punk!” - Chapter 3 (... the genre Shakespeare refused to write.)

in #writing6 years ago

2,700 words ! That's a whole lot. I was wondering when and where you were going to end and pass me the baton. But, you crafted the story really well.
I was hooked till the end and not because I wanted to continue the story but I wanted to know what happened to these Gods.
Guess, it's my turn now.

Sort:  

@ireenchew,

What's great about this writing relay idea is that it FORCES us, as writers, to be CREATIVE. Normally, we find our genres and themes within which we're comfortable. They become familiar, even predictable ... and so do we.

This challenge is an exercise is sharpening your blade. Can you write not just the story you'd like to tell, but a story that someone else is already telling? And can you do it credibly? It FORCES you, albeit amidst a substantial amount of swearing and cursing, to develop your storytelling skills.

And, now that the pressure's off me, I get to sit back and enjoy one of life's simpler pleasures ... knowing that SOMEONE ELSE is about to go through the HELL from which I just emerged. :-)

I await with baited breath to see what happens next. I have no clue ... but I'm certain it's going to be interesting. Go slay the dragon. :-)

Quill

You are so right on the pressure but I feel it's the expectations placed on it too. Everyone so far is such great writers that I pray I can lift up to it.
Which makes me happy to be able to be apart of this relay writing and it actually pushes me to want to do better.

With this relay it gives me a chance to share and creating a storyline that links from the previous writer and still bringing the story to another level and then having the next writer to carry on.

I know there's a dateline to the submission which I know I would be to adhere to it but I also want to be in the right frame of mind when I write.

Good writers take forever to come out with a top selling book. Imagine not have a book yet but when I start writing I want it genuine and frok the heart rather than by force.

It's great to know so many great writers from this relay and I hope I can be apart of this more often.

Now,I'm going to get a good night sleep so that I'm fresh in mind to start my fantasy story tomorrow.

Posted using Partiko Android

@ireenchew,

I'm going to get a good night sleep so that I'm fresh in mind to start my fantasy story tomorrow.

That is an excellent idea. 5 minutes of thinking is worth 5 hours of work. Think about the story thus far. Mull it over. Worry on it for a while. Where could it go from here? Try out one idea and then another. Don't just accept the first thing that pops into your mind. All this "toying" stirs the subconscious soup and is what causes the magic to happen. Eventually, your mind will be captivated by a core idea. ONLY THEN do you pick up your pen.

You'll do beautifully.

Quill

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63745.68
ETH 3137.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86