Today is a sad day of memory!

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

178987_10151239308587427_898027220_n[1].jpg

Today is the 23rd anniversary of my son Jeff's death.
in the picture above, Jeff is on the left and my brother Peter is on the right.

On February 17,1995 @ 12:00 noon I was at work at the flower shop and the staff were all gathered around John, our boss ,to wish him a Happy Birthday . I had just returned after I flew down the highway home and back to pick up John's birthday gift on my lunch hour.. I had forgotten to bring it to the shop that morning. When I got back to the shop.there were 2 policemen asking for me by name. When I saw the police, I just assumed they were there because they caught me speeding....I was polite and told them to just give me my speeding ticket and I said I was sorry and gave John his birthday gift... they looked at me in a strange way and said " could you please come to the squad car out side the shop ." I, being me ,said it is ok to give me the ticket in front of my boss and staff members. the police again said could you please come out to the squad car...At this point John told me to go to the car with them... I was shown to the back seat and as soon as the door closed one of the officer apologized for being so late in finding me.. I then asked him
he had a hard time finding me when he knew I was on the highway.....at that moment to looked at me and said : do you have a son Jeff: ? I said yes, and my heart stopped beating for a second as he told me the news. Jeff had been killed in a train truck collision @ 8:30am and they were looking for me till noon. I am not sure what happened exactly then but one of them walked me back to the shop and my boss stayed with me until my brother Peter ,who was staying with me came home...

Jeff had been working for Pioneer Exploration Seismic Group and he was moving the pup truck and his crew to a work site . The train and Jeff were parallel for 30 miles along the road to their destination. Jeff stopped to let the train pass when he hit a skiff of ice and slid into the cowcatcher of the train. He was killed instantly when the truck turned over on him...

My family, Jeff's friends and workers all came to the funeral and there were approximately 275 people at his funeral..

Today I realize what a great celebration of his life was expressed by all the people who were present..

This has been especially hard to write, remembering the loss of my only son... I am thankful I have my only daughter at my side .

thank you for letting me share this with you...

Sort:  

if u upvote and resteem me i wiil do same

That is so sad. My thoughts and prayers are with you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68781.96
ETH 3736.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73