How Would You Feel (Paean)

in #writing6 years ago

“Pain demands to be felt.” – The Fault in our Stars

slide_285600_2205244_free.jpg

I didn’t understand this line of John Green before, until I experienced that great turmoil of pain. I don’t know about the others but repression has been my way of handling pain. And I have believed that this helped me heal and let go. But just when I thought …

Repressing pain relieves you, but it doesn’t help you heal. Quoting from Prince EA, “People want relief, not a cure.” Somehow, someway we all wanted to be free of pain, as soon as possible. So our tendency is to set it aside and try to bury ourselves with other things just to forget or unfeel it. But I’ve come to believe that negative emotions need to be felt in order to be able to deal, cope, and let them go. Repression is unhealthy because eventually these feelings do come out. They come out in ways that could end up hurting those we love, most of all, ourselves.

No matter how hard we repress pain, we need to DEAL with it. We need to fight this battle within us. So, feel it. Feel everything. Feel the pain ’till it pains no more.

“When dealing with people, remember you are not dealing with creatures of logic, but creatures of emotion.” – Dale Carnegie

We are an emotional being, that’s why we need to deal our emotions. But that does not give us the warrant of operating through our emotions. We need the Lord to be able to overcome pain. We need His touch, we need His truth. And the truth is, our pain is not a waste.

Only then will you truly get rid of pain that exists inside of you. I’m still in this process. It still stings but I’m standing in His grace. I know I will be fine, you will be fine. 🙂

Photo not mine :) (c) to savannahhardcastle.files.wordpress.com

Sort:  

Congratulations @jasmin.montebon! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65955.88
ETH 3055.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69