Hallows Eve

in #writing6 years ago

Hey everyone! Sorry for the lack of creative posts, I've been really busy with school and my personal life. Sadly, I've been finding it harder and harder to commit time into Steemit, and just find inspiration for my next post. I'm hoping to continue writing short stories because I enjoy expressing my creativity through them and I love to hear your guys' response to my stories. I love reading your guys' comments and interacting with you all. So — Trick? Or Treat?



Hallows Eve the night for fright
Come on in and take a bite
Hear a cackle as a witch fly's by
A werewolf howls as the clock strikes midnight

"Time for fun," chimes Elizabeth in a sing-song voice. Her emerald eyes glint with mischief as a sinister smile creeps up onto her face.

She strides with confidence towards the willow tree, her plum-colored hair swaying in the cool breeze as her dark midnight dress billows beneath. The bright full moon illuminates her path and shines off of her dress, adorned with stars now twinkling in the moonlight. She drags her black laced umbrella behind her, creating sparks wherever she went. As she came nearer, a small flicker in the tree's shadow caught her eye. It was barely noticeable to an untrained eye, but she knew.

A smirk appears on her purple stained lips, "Come on out Jack, I know you're there," she teased. "It's not nice to sneak up on a lady, didn't your master ever teach you that?"

Moments of silence pass by as the shadow of the willow tree starts to shake and bend. A tall shadowy figure emerges from the shadows as wispy tendrils of smoke gradually envelope it. "Ahh Liza, ever the observant one, aren't we?" a sinister yet alluring voice taunts from the haze.

A tall sinewy form steps from the haze. Donned in pinstripe pants and a tight-fitted crimson vest, Jack gives a mocking bow, earning a giggle from Elizabeth. His unlit pumpkin head magically kindles a small flicker of light that brightens his features.

"Well now, don't you look dashing," she mocked coyly.

His pointed mouth curls with satisfaction, chuckling as he lets her eyes roam. "I aim to please," he mutters, his still words snapping Elizabeth out of her gaze. Her eyes return to his and their gaze locks.

Quickly turning her back to him she grips her umbrella and opens it, twirling it above her head. A habit he knew well. Her face turns solemn and her eyes seem distant, looking beyond the forest. "I think it's time," she tells him ominously. She walks briskly to the entrance of the forest, a howl sounded North of them, almost as a warning.

"Indeed, I think it is," he responds. His strides long, he catches up to her instantly. He wraps his arms around her from behind, grasping her protectively. His head easily resting upon hers with his tall stature. They look up into the serene night sky at the beautiful full moon. "Shall we, my dear?"

A panting sound is heard behind them and the sound of leaves crunching come upon them rapidly. Leaving his embrace she turns towards him. Snapping her umbrella closed she swivels around and sits upon it. Now hovering in the air, looking down upon Jack. Elizabeth puts her hand out with a cheeky grin, and he takes it, placing a kiss upon her finger. He smirks, watching her as she quickly takes off. His own form twists and turns and he disperses, the shadow of Elizabeth's umbrella now donning yellow glowing eyes.


Prior to creating this story I actually had thought of making a Halloween poem instead but alas I couldn't find enough creative juices for a poem. I don't tend to brainstorm before I create a story, a bad habit I need to break, but I enjoy the spontaneity of creating it. My two characters may have ended up a bit more intimate than I thought, but I enjoyed their interaction and thought a cheeky witch and an alluring pumpkin head would make for an interesting couple. Their intimacy resembles something out of the Mara Dyer series. (Great trilogy, I really recommend reading it!!) I'm hoping to continue this story, so tell me what you think. :) I wish you all the best during your Halloween season, and stay safe!

Sources:
Halloween Background
Willow Tree

Disclaimer: I create no claim or credit for images featured on this post unless otherwise written. I make an effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own the rights to any of these images and wish for them to be removed, please contact me and it will be promptly removed.


Thank you for taking the time to read my post! Please up-vote, re-steem, and consider following me for more content. :) Don't be afraid to comment either!

Sort:  

Adorable :) Elizabeth and Jack makes such a great pair ! I really enjoyed this short story, @jewlzie :)

Would love to see/read more from @jewlzie !!!! Any time :D Cuz you make really lovely posts * ___ *

Awwhh thanks so much spidey, I really enjoy your posts as well ^^ I'm hoping to continue the story but it'd be bad if I didn't meet the Halloween deadline, creativity is so fickle at times...

Congratulations @jewlzie! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 200 comments. Your next target is to reach 300 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard notifications improved

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

haha! Howdy there jewlzie! A witch and a pumpkin head, that is an amazingly creative couple but the way you wrote their characters was charming and convincing, I could see them together and interacting! This was very skillful writing indeed!

Thank you so much! I was hoping that my audience would enjoy something a little different so I’m glad you did :) I also enjoyed writing how they interacted, it was a lot of fun! Thanks for the comment 😄

Posted using Partiko iOS

you're welcome, it was excellent!

Cute! :) I liked it a lot! I actually prefer stories to poem so you pleased me with this short story :) Being spontaneous is always good :)

Thank you for sharing!

Thank you for commenting! I also prefer short stories but I like to try my hand at poetry from time to time

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @jewlzie! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1750 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @jewlzie! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 100

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64