When its all said and done; it makes good toast

in #writing6 years ago

Well, here I go. I just watched a video of a lady playing that her toaster was possessed, but she kept it around because she thought it made good toast. I guess that's a perfect allegory for life right there. I went and watched improv comedy tonight. That was hilarious. I went along to try and weasel my way in on the stage but as soon as it finished my mother instincts kicked in,and I couldn't help but rush home to my sleeping toddler. I still can't decide if I actually want to subject myself to that particular brand of torture; or more so; if that torture would be suitable for me; but the fact that I am interested, speaks volumes about my desire to be subjected to good natured public humiliation. Ahhh the good natured. Yes, I do want to be on a stage with no idea what the hell I am going to say; that's going to be fun.

I have been subjecting myself to stand up already. It's kinda like starting with a feather duster first? before the whip of improv comedy? It made me laugh alot though; very hands on; and I don't like being hands on. Unless the no one is watching; OOOhhh but maybe This is the thing I have been waiting for. That ball busting burst out of my box kinda thing. Maybe I do want people to watch :)

The comedy scene in Cairns, where I live, is just beginning. I wish I was taking photos and documenting this time in our cultural journey. But instead I have decided to join the riff raff of subtle and blatant innuendo like the best of them. Ha, the funniest one, when I first went to comedy night was writing jokes out in pencil still as he was waiting for people to get there. I am certainly not that dedicated yet, although, the comedy is still pouring forth; it's wonderful to be able to an idiot on stage in front of people who are expecting it, instead of casual acquaintances in intimate environments who most certainly aren't. Someone said I found my niche, another few said I was a natural, but most people have just called me brave, upon which I berate them and remind them they mean ridiculously funny; not brave. HA!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69692.63
ETH 3775.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76